COLLECTIONS: Maps

Map Collection Loan Policies for Stony Brook University Patrons (8/22/08)

General Statement

Some materials in the Map Collection, most of which are housed in the Science and Engineering Library, may be borrowed by Stony Brook University (SBU) affiliated patrons with borrowing privileges. The general policies and procedures established by the Libraries Circulation Departments are followed except in cases where the condition, format or critical role of the item dictates other procedures. Only the Map or Special Collections Librarians can make exceptions to restrictions. No item may be taken from the Map Collection without permission.

Borrowers are responsible for the material they check out until it is returned to the Map Collection. Return all Map Collection material to the Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk in the North Reading Room (NRR) and not to other sections of the library. Do NOT return maps through book return chutes or through the Libraries delivery service.

Atlases, gazetteers, folios, aerial photo prints, topographic maps and Long Island and historical maps are never circulated due to their critical role for research in the Map Collection. When they are needed for a class presentation, the library will provide high quality digital copies/scans for a fee.

All patrons given assistance pertaining to the Map Collection must fill out the Map Collection Registration Form.

Loans

The loan period for thematic maps (those communicating a single theme or subject, e.g., a population density map or a fresh water wetlands map) is seven days. The short period is due to the nature of the formats and their use. All materials can be renewed if not requested by another patron. Renewals can be made by phone.

Only circulating items can leave the Map Library, and be checked-out at the NRR Circulation Desk. Checkout requires that the permission slip be signed by Librarian who will verify that the slip contains sufficient bibliographic information for replacement if damaged or lost. Permission slips can be obtained at the NRR circulation desk.

Reserve Services

Stony Brook faculty and teaching fellows need to contact the Map Collection if they wish to have specific cartographic materials placed on hold for their classes. Advance notice is appreciated. 

Materials can be placed on reserve on a semester or shorter basis. Items cannot be placed on permanent reserve. Please discuss placing items on reserve with the Map Librarian weekdays between 10:00 to 5:00 p.m.

When reserve items are requested for use, they must be checked-out at the NRR circulation desk, when accompanied by a permission slip signed by a Librarian or Shift Supervisor. Permission slips can be obtained at the NRR circulation desk.

Fees for Reproduction

The Map Collection reproduces material in the form of photocopies or digital scans to the extent that physical condition and copyright restrictions permit. All requests require completion of our Map Collection Registration Form.

Patrons seeking assistance in the reproduction of Map Collection materials should refer to our document “Fees for Reproduction Services in the Map Collection”.

Deliveries 

Map Library materials will not be delivered nor can they be returned via the delivery service. Do NOT use the SBU campus book delivery service to return maps. Patrons are responsible for any damage that occurs to borrowed material from the time it is checked out to when it returned to NRR circulation desk.