Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary: English-Italian by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010-06-25
This dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases and contains 120,000 translations. It is designed to meet the needs of business users, adult learners, and students in their first years of learning Italian.
Italian Language Online
Accademia della Crusca
The Accademia della Crusca is among the leading institutions in the field of research on the Italian language.
Italian from the BBC
Listen to audio files, watch videos, learn about Italian culture.
Italian Language Foundation
Dedicated to promoting and sustaining Italian language education in the United States.
Complete conjugations for regular and irregular verbs.
Verbix (Conjugator of Italian verbs)
Verbix is an independent non-profit organization that aims to promote and protect linguistic diversity [by UNESCO]. The Italian page of this site contains conjugations for thousands of verbs, including the rarely used.
VIVIT: Vivi l'italiano
Portal of Italian language and culture.
Italian Language Resources
John Florio by
Call Number: MAIN PC1640 .F56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
A Worlde of Wordes, the first-ever comprehensive Italian-English dictionary, was published in 1598 by John Florio. One of the most prominent linguists and educators in Elizabethan England, Florio was greatly responsible for the spreading of Italian letters and culture throughout educated English society. Especially important was Florio's dictionary, which - thanks to its exuberant wealth of English definitions - made it initially possible for English readers to access Italy's rich Renaissance literary and scientific culture. Award-winning author Hermann W. Haller has prepared the first critical edition of A Worlde of Wordes, which features 46,000 Italian entries - among them dialect forms, erotic terminology, colloquial phrases, and proverbs of the Italian language. Haller reveals Florio as a brilliant English translator and creative writer, as well as a grammarian and language teacher. His helpful critical commentary highlights Florio's love of words and his life-long dedication to promoting Italian language and culture abroad.
Developing Writing Skills in Italian by
Call Number: MAIN PC1420 .O455 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-20
Developing Writing Skills in Italian has been specifically designed for upper-intermediate students of Italian who need to write Italian for personal, business and academic purposes. With a strong focus on writing as a meaningful and valuable skill in itself, Developing Writing Skills in Italian supports the learner throughout the process of writing, from the planning and drafting stages to the revising and editing of a final version, enriching and extending the learners' lexical, grammatical and communicative writing skills. Divided into four logically structured sections the learner can work through a range of realistic and contextualized writing tasks which will allow them to master a variety of styles, registers and formats. Features include: flexible structure a summary of learning points clearly indicated at the beginning of each chapter focus on self assessment, allowing students to engage fully in the writing process by evaluating their own work a glossary of key phrases and useful vocabulary. This course is suitable both for classroom use and independent study. Assessment guides, a teacher's guide, answer key and supplementary activities are all available on the accompanying website.
Using Italian Synonyms by
Call Number: MAIN PC1591 .M67 2000
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
This book enables students who have already developed a basic competence in Italian to broaden and improve their vocabulary and choose among words with similar meanings. It is the first book of Italian synonyms to be produced with the needs of English speakers in mind. All entries are accompanied by examples of usage and are graded to indicate their level of formality, and there are two indexes allowing users to locate words in Italian or English. This is an essential reference for intermediate and advanced students and teachers of Italian.