Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Italian Cinema Book by
Call Number: MAIN PN1993.5 .I88 I735 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-27
THE ITALIAN CINEMA BOOK is an essential guide to the most important historical, aesthetic and cultural aspects of Italian cinema, from 1895 to the present day. With contributions from 39 leading international scholars, the book is structured around six chronologically organised sections:THE SILENT ERA (1895-22)THE BIRTH OF THE TALKIES AND THE FASCIST ERA (1922-45)POSTWAR CINEMATIC CULTURE (1945-59)THE GOLDEN AGE OF ITALIAN CINEMA (1960-80)AN AGE OF CRISIS, TRANSITION AND CONSOLIDATION (1981 TO THE PRESENT)NEW DIRECTIONS IN CRITICAL APPROACHES TO ITALIAN CINEMAAcutely aware of the contemporary 'rethinking' of Italian cinema history, Peter Bondanella has brought together a diverse range of essays which represent the cutting edge of Italian film theory and criticism. This provocative collection will provide the film student, scholar or enthusiast with a comprehensive understanding of the major developments in what might be called twentieth-century Italy's greatest and most original art form.
SBU Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming Service
A repository of streaming films supporting research and teaching in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and technical fields. Content includes documentaries, training videos, and foreign language material.
Swank Streaming Videos
On-demand streaming video by subscription.
Alexander Street Streaming Video
A repository of streaming films to support research and teaching in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Access note: SBU does not have access to videos labeled as "Sample" titles
Italian Film Resources
THE center of Italian film production. Includes links to several film magazines and other helpful information.
Comprehensive website covering all aspects of Italian cinema since 2000, including films, actors, trailers, soundtracks, festivals, industry news, etc.
Includes database of contemporary Italian films, plus information on schools, festivals, production companies, and more.
Internet Archives - Moving Image Archive
Online archive with access to millions of films and videos from around the world.
Museo Nazionale del Cinema
Italy's National Museum of Cinema, located in Torino.
Italian Film Directors
Here is a selected list of some of the many well-known Italian Movie Directors, followed by a suggested book to begin your research on each one. The call no. is also provided for each book that can be found in the Library. If the name is highlighted in blue, click on it and it will link to a website about the director.
The Films of Michelangelo Antonioni by Peter Brunette.
Main Stacks PN1998.3.A58 B78 1998
Bernardo Bertolucci : interviews, edited by Fabien Gerard, T. Jefferson Kline, & Bruce Sklarew.
Main Stacks PN1998.3.B48 A5 2000
Vittorio De Sica
Vittorio De Sica : director, actor, screenwriter, by Bert Cardullo.
Main Stacks PN1998.3.D42 C37 2002
Federico Fellini : his life and work, by Tullio Kezich.
Main Stacks PN1998.3.F45 K49 2006
The Films of Roberto Rossellini, by Peter Bondanella.
Main Stacks PN1998.3.R67 B66 1993
Luchino Visconti, by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith.
Main Stacks PN1998.A3 V5855 2003
Italian Actors & Actresses