Research & Subject Guides: Sociology: Find Articles & Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.

ERIC
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GenderWatch
1970-present. Fulltext. Covers perspectives on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and government reports.

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Opposing Viewpoints
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext. Presents information on complex contemporary topics in a pro- and con- format.

PsycINFO 1887-Current
1887?present. Citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 journals, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related disciplines.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL)
1930s-present. Fulltext and abstracts. Large archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Includes national, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples.
Social Sciences Citation Index
1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.

Find Journals

Journals Search Home | HELP

eJournals

A selection of eJournals for research in sociology. Many eJournals are available in multiple databases; for complete holdings information, use the eJournals search tool above.

Where Can I Find Statistics?

Where can I find statistics?

Looking for statistics? The open web is a great place to find statistics published by established and respected organizations. It is also a place where you might find some statistics that are are false or misleading. How can you know what to use? Here is a list of sources known for being reliable sources of statistics:

INTERNATIONAL DATA COLLECTIONS

SOME DATA COLLECTIONS SPECIFIC TO THE UNITED STATES

Sociology

Databases

Find Journals

eJournals

Where Can I Find Statistics?

Where can I find statistics?

Library

Resources

Follow Us