Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias (Library Catalog)
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks x F1406 .C36 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-25
The Encyclopedia examines urgent contemporary issues like economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, as well as the long-term factors that have moulded Latin America as we find it today: the native flora and fauna, the emergence of early civilisations in Mexico and Peru, imperial domination over three centuries by Spain and Portugal, the struggle for independence in the nineteenth century, and the political turbulence of the twentieth. Coverage is provided also of music and literature, architecture, painting, and intellectual life, vividly reminding us that beyond today's headlines lies the culture of the tango and the samba, Borges and Neruda, Garcia Márquez and Diego Rivera, Villa Lobos and Bob Marley.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by
Call Number: Main Library Reference x F1218.6 .O95 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica. Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals. An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.
Diccionario Enciclopédico Espasa
Call Number: Main Library Stacks AG61 .D526 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana
Call Number: Main Library Reference Encyclopedias AE61 .E6
Publication Date: 1907