Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
The database De Gruyter includes more than 600 academic journals, 35 databases and over 800 new books added to an archive of more than 50,000 titles each year.
Access Note: SBU only has access to some journals in this collection
Collection of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, including current events, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Science, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
To access Stony Brook specific holdings, log in to HathiTrust by following the link above, clicking on "Log in" in the upper right corner, and searching for "Stony Brook University" under "Filter by Institution". When you click on "Stony Brook University" and "Continue" you will be prompted to log in with your NetID and password and then will be logged into HathiTrust through SBU.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
Access note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Fulltext access to selected scholarly journals and e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection.
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Compatibility mode in IE9 or higher reverts the browser back to IE7 or IE8 behavior. If you experience issues accessing ScienceDirect using IE9 or higher, please disable the compatibility view mode in your IE browser.
Note2: Effective December 2016, Science Direct will also no longer support Internet Explorer 9.
Google Scholar and Library Databases
Google Scholar
A Google tool that:
searches the web for scholarly articles, books, theses, and related academic sources
generate citations and can also export citations to EndNote
to a certain extent shows "cited by" information for articles
can specify broad date ranges
Linking Google Scholar to Library Databases
You can set Google Scholar to display links into University Libraries databases for full text access.
Go to Google Scholar - Settings
Click on Library links on the menu on the left
Search for Stony Brook in the search box
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - FullText @ Stony Brook
Click save
You will now see FullText@StonyBrook links next to articles if the content is available in our databases.
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.
