Speech-Language Pathology

This new edition provides an updated and enhanced survey on employing wavelets analysis in an array of applications of speech processing. The author presents updated developments in topics such as; speech enhancement, noise suppression, spectral analysis of speech signal, speech quality assessment, speech recognition, forensics by Speech, and emotion recognition from speech. The new edition also features  a new chapter on scalogram analysis of speech. Moreover, in this edition, each chapter is restructured as such; that it becomes self contained, and can be read separately. Each chapter surveys the literature in a topic such that the use of wavelets in the work is explained and experimental results of proposed method are then discussed. Illustrative figures are also added to explain the methodology of each work.

Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual, Seventh Edition is the bestselling book on assessment for academic courses and clinical practice. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in children and adults. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, and practical stimulus suggestion. Many reproducible worksheets, forms, reports, and quick-reference tables are provided.

For people with severe/profound and multiple  disabilities, managing the basic necessities of daily life often poses myriad challenges. Despite great odds, advances in assistive technology are making a difference in these individuals' lives. Advances in microswitches, voice outcome communication aids, and computer-based systems are creating new opportunities for living independently, improving basic life skills, and reducing problem behaviors among individuals with combined motor, sensory, and intellectual disabilities. This unique volume examines how education and rehabilitation can improve the lives of even those individuals most affected by severe/profound and multiple disabilities. Interventions currently in use and in experimental stages are surveyed in terms of how they work and their applicability to clients with various needs. In addition, it examines the characteristics of developmentally disabled populations and offers guidelines for choosing suitable technologies. It presents empirical evidence on the advances in improving interaction with caregivers, control of the home environment, handling self-care tasks, and other core skills. Assistive Technology examines interventions that are innovative, respectful of the dignity of clients, and practical for ongoing use, including: * Microswitches in habilitation programs. * Speech-generating devices for communication and social development. * Instructional technology for promoting academic, work, and leisure skills. * Assistive technology for promoting ambulation. * Orientation systems for promoting movement indoors. * Assistive technology for reducing problem behaviors. A state-of-the-art guide to a growing field, Assistive Technology is an invaluable resource for researchers, clinicians, graduate students as well as clinicians and allied professionals in developmental psychology, rehabilitation and rehabilitative medicine, learning and instruction, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, and educational technology.

Providers of Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) face a myriad of challenges in a rapidly changing and developing field. Augmentative and Alternative Communication: Challenges and Solutions is a unique solution-oriented text intended to prepare professionals to face those challenges with a can do perspective. Featuring contributions from prominent AAC researchers and providers, as well as actual AAC users, this resource traverses a wide range of scenarios that clinicians deal with on a daily basis. Augmentative and Alternative Communication: Challenges and Solutions is divided into five sections with each chapter offering a different evidence-based solution. Part I provides an introduction and basis for the rest of the book. Part II focuses on the unique challenges of providing AAC in childhood, while Part III centers on dealing with adult disorders. In Part IV, the authors delve into special populations and issues, such as assisting individuals with multiple disabilities. In Part V, clinicians will find tips for becoming a solution-oriented provider.Key FeaturesContributions from national experts in AACQuotes and vignettes representing the experiences of actual AAC usersFeatured challenges faced by providers and users alikeEvidence-based solutions for ready application in clinical contextsTools for implementing certain strategies, including example meeting scriptsA comprehensive glossary of termsA highly readable writing styleAn introductory chapter with bolded key terms to improve retention of the material

Dual language learners are the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. student population, and the majority speak Spanish as a first language. This graduate-level textbook--now in its third edition--gives future speech-language pathologists the comprehensive knowledge they need to work effectively with Spanish-English bilingual children and support their language development.   Aligned with current best practices and updated with the latest research and new chapters on critical topics, this book prepares SLPs for practice with cutting-edge information on language development and disorders of Spanish-English bilingual children. More than 25 leading researchers compile the high-level knowledge SLPs need to understand the complexity of language development in bilingual children, distinguish language differences from disorders accurately, and conduct effective assessment and intervention. An essential graduate text that will also be a trusted reference for practicing professionals, this third edition gives current and future SLPs a broad, deep, and nuanced understanding of communication development and disorders in Spanish-English bilingual children.   NEW CHAPTERS ON: the human right to communicate in more than one language * development of speech perception and production in bilingual preverbal infants * culturally and linguistically responsive approaches to language intervention   UPDATED INFORMATION ON: bilingual language development of English learners * bilingualism and the child socialization process * bilingual lexical development, assessment, and intervention * semantic development * grammatical impairments * morphosyntactic development * cross-linguistic influence and code-switching * oral narrative language skills and disorders * first language loss and attrition * literacy learning * the intersection of language and academics * speech sound development and disorders * fluency * professional development practices

Clinical Decision Making in Fluency Disorders, Fifth Edition is designed for graduate students who are beginning their first in-depth experience in fluency disorders, as well as professional clinicians expanding their knowledge of this specialty area. Written with enthusiasm and creativity, in a style that speaks directly to the clinician, the text centers not only on effectively managing stuttering but also on the therapeutic journey by describing goals, principles, and techniques for assessment counseling and ongoing management. This text provides clinical insights to assist people who stutter with their ability to communicate and enhance their quality of life. Key Features: Clinical Decision Making boxes designed to address some of the options a clinician is likely to consider during the assessment and treatment processes  Clinical Insight boxes reflect a particular philosophical view about aspects of therapeutic change for individuals who stutter Discussion questions at the end of each chapter   New to the Fifth Edition: New chapter on cultural and linguistic diversity New chapter on general principles of assessment Revised and updated discussion questions at the end of each chapter

The sixth edition of Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders. With this book, students will be better prepared to meet the exciting and yet often challenging task of providing ethical and effective services to children and adults with communication disorders. Clinical supervisors may find the book helpful in understanding their own roles and responsibilities better so that they can create a productive and exciting clinical practicum experience for their student clinicians. Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology offers a single and comprehensive source of information that will help establish clear expectations for both student clinicians and the clinical supervisors. New to the Sixth Edition New coauthor, Katrina Kuyumjian A new chapter with an overview of treatment procedures that apply across disorders of communication Revised section on clinical methods to include updated information on the current ASHA guidelines on clinical practicum; current legal and professional requirements regarding clinical practicum in educational settings; new and expanded information on assessment, target behaviors, and treatment strategies for all disorders of communication Updated and expanded references throughout Key Features Chapter Outlines open each chapter and provide a summary of the key topics An end-of-book glossary allows readers to easily find and define important terms or concepts Bulleted and boxed information for easy access

Written for graduate students and practicing clinicians, this textbook, now in its second edition, provides comprehensive knowledge about understanding and conducting clinical research. Specifically, readers will learn to understand the strengths and weaknesses of different research methodologies, apply the results of research to clinical practice and decision making, and understand the importance of research ethics.. Importantly, this is the only book to take into account qualitative research and evidence-based practice, and to provide a detailed discussion of research ethics. For the second edition, the authors have updated and expanded the content. New and expanded topics include: . HIPAA and its impact on research Knowledge and skills needed for evidence-based research Application of revised Codes of Ethics to research: AAA (2011) and ASHA (2010) Comparison of ASHA (2005) and (2007) levels of evidence Chronology of research misconduct in the United States Organizational support for evidence-based practice Framing questions: PICO and PESICO Research utilization Information literacy Use of social networking as a research database Using single-subject design for ASD subjects In addition, the chapter on research grants includes an updated and expanded list of potential funding sources for grant-seeking purposes, both online and text-based, for federal, foundation, association, and corporate research grants.. With its updated content and many new features, Clinical Research Methods in speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Second Edition is an excellent choice for students and professionals seeking to increase their knowledge of of research in communication sciences and disorders.

Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition is specifically written to provide the speech language pathologist with a knowledge base to work with individuals who are hard of hearing, deaf and diagnosed with (central) auditory processing disorder. Serving as a guide to the management of hearing loss, this unique resource presents basic audiological concepts in a clear, concise, easy to understand format, eliminating extensive technical jargon. This comprehensive text covers various types and degrees of hearing loss and the resulting auditory, speech, and language difficulties. Moving away from an exclusively diagnostic format of audiology practices, this text also focuses on the rehabilitative aspects of hearing loss and empowering students to collaborate with audiologists throughout their career.Unlike other texts, Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition presents detailed information on all audiometric testing procedures and how to read and interpret audiometric results. The text covers programmatic planning from early intervention through geriatrics while also providing a thorough review of normal hearing development from birth through eight years of age. Each chapter of the text is organized into these helpful sections: What You Need to Know, How it Works, Technically Speaking, Methodologies. This approach breaks down each concept in a way that facilitates student comprehension and retention.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos and animations, resource tool kit, flashcards, and more!New chapter providing an overview of listening and spoken language therapy certification and trainingIncludes examples of aural rehabilitation goalsProvides guidance on how to counsel patients and their families regarding the impact of hearing lossChecklists and patient questionnaires that benefit students once in practiceProvides the latest information about the constantly evolving world of hearing assistance technology, including progress made in hearing aids and cochlear implants

"This exciting new text offers a comprehensive, engaging, and readable overview to the dynamic field of medical speech-language pathology. It is the first medical speech-language pathology textbook that is not focused on the various disorders, but instead examines the scope and key concepts of the profession, such as clinical reasoning, interprofessional practice, and the continuum of care. The book provides an in-depth overview of healthcare workplace settings (acute care, inpatient rehabilitation, skilled nursing, home health, outpatient care, pediatric service delivery, pharmacology, and neuroimaging)"--

"In Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology: How to Write, Talk, and Act Like a Clinician, Fourth Edition, the authors introduce student clinicians to the various types of written and verbal communication they will encounter across three different clinical settings: university clinics, medical settings, and public schools. The text is written in a student-friendly manner, with appendices that provide examples of diagnostic and treatment reports, data sheets, and important acronyms in medical and school settings. Chapters cover verbal interactions with families, allied professionals, and supervisors, as well as written and verbal communication across the university, medical, and school settings. Also included are scenarios written in the form of vignettes that address issues of ethics, interviewing, and procedures for managing protected health information"--

Written specifically with speech-language pathology assistants (SLPAs) in mind, Speech-Language Pathology Assistants: A Resource Manual, is a practical, easy-to-use manual that can be used by both SLPAs and SLPAs educators. The text defines the roles of SLPAs and their supervisors - offering additional insight into the scope of practice of an SLPA.

The thoroughly revised Sixth Edition of the best-selling Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology remains an ideal textbook for clinical methods courses in speech-language pathology, as well as for students entering their clinical practicum or preparing for certification and licensure. It is also a beloved go-to resource for practicing clinicians who need a thorough guide to effective intervention approaches/strategies. This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations. The text is divided into two sections. The first part is focused on preparing for effective intervention, and the second part, the bulk of the book, is devoted to therapy strategies for specific disorders. Each of these chapters features a brief description of the disorder, case examples, specific suggestions for the selection of therapy targets, and sample therapy activities. Each chapter concludes with a set of helpful hints on intervention and a selected list of available therapy materials and resources.New to the Sixth Edition This new edition includes updated citations and references throughout as well as current information on treatment efficacy in all disorder chapters to reflect recent developments in the field. In addition, the authors have added the following: A new chapter on Contemporary Issues including critical thinking, telepractice, simulation technologies, and coding and reimbursement New tables on skill development in gesture, feeding, and visionNew information on therapist effects/therapeutic allianceCoverage of emerging techniques for voice disorders and transgender clientsExpanded information on: ​​​​​​Childhood Apraxia of SpeechCochlear ImplantsCultural and Linguistic DiversityInterprofessional PracticeShared Book-ReadingTraumatic Brain InjuryTreatment Dosage/IntensityVocabulary DevelopmentKey FeaturesBolded key terms with an end-of-book glossaryA multitude of case examples, reference tables, charts, figures, and reproducible formsLists of Additional Resources in each chapterAccess to a PluralPlus companion website containing PowerPoint lecture slides and quizzes for each chapter, and all of the forms from the book in digital format for easy duplication and customization to specific experiences