Kelly Kunsch provides a guide to legal research that discusses resources available to research the law, the issues that often arise in the area, and the approaches to take in applying the resources to the issues.
A joint project of the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and various Native American tribes, this site provides access to constitutions, tribal codes, and other documents, including treaties and research guides. It also includes the full-text of the Handbook of Federal Indian Law published in 1941 and links to other related sites.
Includes federal and state resources; criminal jurisdiction; and law enforcement information for the Blackfeet, Chippewa Cree, Salish & Kootenai, Crow, Assiniboine & Gros Ventre, Assiniboine & Sioux, Little Shell, and Northern Cheyenne.
In 2015, the Legislature passed Senate Bill 5433 modifying the original 2005 legislation, now requiring the Since Time Immemorial: Tribal Sovereignty in Washington State or other tribally-developed curriculum be taught in all schools. The use of the Since Time Immemorial curriculum has been endorsed by all 29 federally recognized tribes.
The Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States.
Charles J. Kappler compiled this primary source of Indian Treaties. Seven volumes of Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (United States Government Treaties (volume II) and laws and executive orders (volumes I, III–VII) from 1778 to 1970). These have been digitized to provide the most comprehensive source for permanent laws related to Indian affairs. The index is fully searchable.
While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
The State Department's Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Treaty Affairs provides links to Treaties in Force, which includes all current treaties to which the US is party, and Treaties And Other International Acts Series (TIAS) which includes all treaties to which the US has become party in a calendar year.