Skip to Main Content


Stony Brook University

Indigenous Histories & Cultures of North America

A guide to sources for studies of Indigenous histories and cultures of North America.

E-Resources

Databases (SBU net ID)

  • Academic Search Complete: coverage from 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 full-text journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.

  • America: History & Life (EBSCO): 1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.

  • Gale Primary Sources: cross searches databases, e.g., The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times Digital Archive, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Witchcraft in Europe and America (Archives Unbound).

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO): 1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.

  • JSTOR: coverage from 1600s; most fields of study begin with the first issue of a journal.

  • Project MUSE: coverage varies. Full-text; 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Historical Newspapers (SBU net ID)

Current Newspapers (SBU net ID)

  • Ethnic NewsWatch: 1990-present. Full-text. 

  • Nexis Uni: coverage varies. Full-text. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. 

  • U.S. Major Dailies: The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.

Journals (SBU net ID)