Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Integrating Library Resources Into Blackboard: Linking to Articles

This guide will show you how to find, link to, and otherwise make use of the most appropriate library resources for your online teaching in Blackboard.

Linking to Articles in Databases

You can embed direct links in Blackboard to articles in many of our databases. You want to make sure that you are using the correct link - one that will direct students to the article via our proxy servers. Each vendor will present these links in a slightly different way.

You start by locating the full text article to which you want to link. Below are the steps for some representative database platforms.

Databases

EBSCO databases

1. Click on the Permalink in the righthand menu of the article-level view.

2. Copy and paste the URL from the Permalink field.

Permalink location in EBSCO databases.

ProQuest databases

1. Click on the Abstract/Details tab for the article.

2. Scroll down and copy the Document URL.

Document URL in ProQuest databases.

JSTOR

Copy the URL that is listed under the DOI on the article level page. 

Article link in JSTOR database.

NEXIS UNI

1. From the article page, click on Actions and choose Link to this page.

2. Copy the URL from the resulting pop up window.

Page link in Nexis Uni.