Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

August 2020: We are currently in the process of cleaning up duplicate entries on this list, so you may see the total number of databases fluctuate. Please note that we have not lost access to any subscribed resources.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Each week, The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents the reader with a digestible collection of Chinese press materials, all in English. Selected articles cover a wide variety of topics, such as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. The Current Digest’s mission is to provide the reader with a comprehensive, broad picture of the news published in China, be it domestic, international or related to other states of the Asia Pacific region.

Note: Temporary access ends October 31, 2020
Trial
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Note: Temporary access ends October 31, 2020
Trial
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.

Note: Temporary access ends October 31, 2020
Trial
The newspaper’s mission is to promote international understanding of Japan by offering the latest and most reliable news about the country to a worldwide audience. The Japan News also prides itself on its high-quality translations of articles from The Yomiuri Shimbun as they give foreign readers a window into the Japanese world.

Drawing on The Yomiuri Shimbun’s extensive news coverage network, The Japan News is an excellent source of both domestic and foreign news in various genres, including politics, economy, sports and culture.

Note: Temporary access ends October 31, 2020
Trial
Psychology eBook Collection covers a massive range of concepts such as clinical psychology, cognitive psychology and cognition, counseling, developmental psychology and evolutionary psychology.

NOTE: Trial access available through August 31, 2022
Trial
WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Included are 8.5 Million digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works.

NOTE: Trial access, expires 8/28/20
Loading...
title
Loading...