Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theatre Web Sites
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. Offers historical information about theatres and various statistics related to Broadway. Information mainly derived from theatre programs (often from a production's opening night). Supplemental information from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals, and League archives. Created by the Research Department of The Broadway League.
News about the theatre industry, both for the U.S. and internationally; Tony Awards; Obituaries; Broadway Grosses; Stage to Screens; Casting & Jobs information; a Who's Who section; a Multimedia section including Photo Galleries, Audio, and Video; and more.
New York Public Libraries Best of the Web Theatre Links
Links to Associations & Organizations; Design & Stagecraft; Educational Theatre & Children's Theatre; Full text play Sources; Indexes to Internet Theatre Resources; International Theatre; Libraries, Archives & Museums; Musical Theatre; play Indexes; Playwriting & Dramaturgy; Theatre Companies and more.
Playwrights on the Web
Directory of contemporary playwrights from stageplays.com.
Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (APGRD)
The APGRD Database offers information on more than 9000 productions of ancient Greek and Roman drama performed internationally on stage, screen, and radio from the Renaissance to the present day. It also aims to provide, where possible, a range of bibliographical references as sources of information on each production (for example, newspaper reviews, academic publications, actors' biographies, and websites). Search for: Productions, Scripts, Translations and People.
The New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project 1935-1939
Over 13,000 images of items, including stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records.
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment 1870-1920
Multimedia anthology illustrating the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini.
Includes, Comic, Dramatic and Classical monologues for Men and Women. Browse monologues by playwright.
Theatre news, talk, and information.
The American Society for Theatre Research
Articles, News, Calls for Papers, and other resources, including Primary Sources Online, Secondary Sources Online, Libraries and Archives.