Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Boards
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
Video Sharing & Discovery Online
Google Video Search
Includes results from Vimeo, YouTube, other video sharing communities and websites.
Vimeo is a video sharing online community.
Let me YouTube that for you.
Women in Theatre: Series I: Dialogues With Notable Women in American Theatre by
Call Number: Third Floor Stacks - Videotape Collection - DVD 2840
Publication Date: 2006
This four-DVD set contains 13 interviews by Newsday Theatre Critic Linda Winer with distinguished playwrights, directors, designers, producers and actors including Suzan-Lori Parks, Anna Deavere Smith, Wendy Wasserstein, Ruby Dee, Rosemary Harris, Audra McDonald, Elizabeth McCann, Carey Perloff, Heidi Ettinger, Julie Taymor, Jennifer Tipton, and Graciela Daniele, and a panel with Martha Lavey, Lois Smith, and Joan Allen from Chicago’s Steppenwolf Theatre Company.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video
not only contains full-length productions of over 250 important plays, it also features interviews with playwrights and many other useful resources, including:
- Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, illustrate the development of the texts and the productions. For example, users can watch and hear Arthur Miller discussing The Ride Down Mount Morgan and directing a rehearsal.
- Documentary histories examine such varied subjects as The Globe Theatre; Edward Albee; The Royal Shakespeare Company; The Federal Theatre Project; Luis Valdez and El Teatro Campesino; The New Drama As Viewed by William Saroyan (examining the avant garde, with excerpts from The Killer, by Eugene Ionesco, The Sand Box, by Edward Albee, and Krapp's Last Tape, by Samuel Beckett, with Myron McCormick); Adolphe Appia’s Design Innovations; The Role of Theatre in Ancient Greece; and other topics.
- The stage work of legendary directors and actors are together for the first time, cross searchable and available for side-by-side comparison.
- Multiple productions of several of Shakespeare’s plays will allow for comparative analysis, showing various interpretations of the text and technical and cultural differences among the presentations.
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.