Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance by
Call Number: PN2035.O94 2003
From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. A unique feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of articles on concepts, theories, and critical approaches, ranging from short definitions of terms like catharsis and monologue to more lengthy considerations of farce and tragedy. Race and theatre, the nature of acting, censorship, safety, special effects, and media and performance are all debated.
These books are located in the Reference section of the Central Reading Room, on the first floor, unless otherwise noted.
New York Theatre Critics’ Review
Call Number: PN2000 .N76
Contemporary reviews of plays from 1943-1996. Called National Theatre Critics’ Review in 1995-1996.
International dictionary of theatre
Call Number: PN2035.I5588
International and historical in scope, this reference includes nearly 1,500 entries and is divided into three volumes: Volume 1: Plays focuses on 600 of the world's most significant plays, with an authoritative essay on each play and more than 300 photographs.Volume 2: Playwrights contains biographical and bibliographical information and essays on 485 playwrights.Volume 3: Actors, Directors and Designers, features a capsule biography, descriptions: of roles and theatre productions and bibliographic information on 300 entrants.
Theatrical Costume by
Call Number: PN2067 .J68 2000
Theatrical Costumeis an indispensable reference for performing arts students, theatre, opera and dance costume designers, theatrical practitioners, historians, and picture researchers. This unique bibliography and iconography contains nearly 4000 detailed entries on separately published sources such as books, sale and exhibition catalogues, and dissertations, as well as an indexed record of over 6000 illustrations of performers in role, from the eighteenth to twentieth century. Other valuable resources in this volume include four detailed indexes covering designers, productions, performers, and authors.
The Cambridge guide to theatre by
Call Number: PN2035 .C27
Updated and significantly revised, this is one of the most comprehensive guides to theatre available. Spanning continents and traditions, the Guide will prove an indispensable reference tool to students and theatre-goers alike.
Encyclopedia of the New York Stage by
Call Number: PN2277.N5 L364
The most reliable source for data on productions of the New York stage, both Broadway and Off Broadway. Three volumes: 1920-1930, 1930-1940 and 1940-1950. Provides a description of every legitimate production--play, musical, revue, or revival; English-language or foreign-language, domestic or import--staged in the New York professional theatre and reviewed by the press during the decade.. Each listing begins with genre designation and subject categorization and proceeds to writing and production credits, theatre, opening dates, and run. The narrative text that follows, provides, along with plot summary, a lively account of background, anecdotal commentary from biographies and autobiographies, and critical responses to play and production with reference to and quotes from reviews. Appendices offer listings of plays chronologically and in categories as well as play sources, awards, information on theatres, institutional theatres, foreign companies, reviewers, and various statistics.
Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre by
This concise version of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Theatre covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting. Entries on people and places include Athol Fugard, Anthony Hopkins, Glenda Jackson, Derek Jacobi, Harvey Fierstein, Helen Mirren, Trevor Nunn, Peter O'Toole, Willy Russell, and Stephen Sondheim, Barbican Theatre, The English Shakespeare Company, Michael Gambon, The Swan at Stratford, and the Shubert theatre in New York.
Oxford Companion to American Theatre by
Gerald Bordman's Oxford Companion to American Theatre is the standard one-volume source on American theatre. Critics have hailed its “wealth of authoritative information” (Back Stage), its “fascinating picture of the volatile American stage” (The Guardian), and its “well-chosen, illuminating facts” (Newsday).
Now thoroughly revised, this distinguished volume once again provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Completely updated by theater professor Thomas Hischak, the volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. The book covers not only classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) but also many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter). New entries include recent plays such as Angels in America and Six Degrees of Separation, performers such as Eric Bogosian and Bill Irwin, playwrights like David Henry Hwang and Wendy Wasserstein, and relevant developments and issues including AIDS in American theatre, theatrical producing by Disney, and the rise in solo performance.
Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance by
This Oxford Companion is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia.
The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing threatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work. It has 2,400 entries presented in a far more compact and portable format. The timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theatre and performance has been significantly updated, along with the extensive bibliography