Skip to main content
Stony Brook University



WRT 200: Home

Off-Campus Access

Use your NetID and password to access library resources when off-campus.

Really Want to Cite Wikipedia?

Try Britannica Online! It's also an online encyclopedia but it's not a wiki so there is less risk of incorrect information.

Once you find your topic, check the bottom of the page for citation information.

Library Events

Loading

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million books and e-books, over 100,000 e-journals; over 600 databases, and another 3.8 million titles in microforms.

Materials & Circulation

Fines & Fees

Interlibrary Loan

Wifi & Web-Based Printing

Sinc Sites

The North Reading Room (Science & Engineering Library), Central Reading Room, and Music Library are on the 1st floor of Melville Library. The Main Stacks entrance is on the 3rd floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

Special Collections & University Archives is located on the 2nd floor of Melville Library. Schedule an appointment to see the extensive collection of manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, and more.

The Health Sciences Library is located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

 

Search Tricks

AND between words searches for BOTH words on document. 

EX: immigration and employment 

Returns results with both words. Fewer, but better, results.

QUOTATION MARKS around a phrase searches for that exact phrase

EX: “genetic engineering” "climate change"  "no child left behind"

Returns results with that exact phrase.  

ASTERISK (*) search looks for all the various words using the same root.

EX: comput* results in articles that have the words compute, computer, computing, etc. 

       educat* will search for educate, education, educator, educators, etc.

OR between words searches for at least one of the words. 

EX: fat OR obesity

Returns results with either word. Produces more results.   

(Parentheses) group multiple search terms together.

EX: debt and (teenagers or adolescents) 

Returns results for debt and teenagers and for debt and adolescents.