Research & Subject Guides: WRT 101 Clarke: Articles

Databases for Scholarly Material

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext. Presents information on complex contemporary topics in a pro- and con- format.

ProQuest Basic Search
The ProQuest database can be used for basic searches in many fields of subject. ProQuest features subject criteria on the arts, business, dissertations and theses, health and medicine, history, newspapers, and much more.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
1992-present. Fulltext. Books, articles, newsletters, and reports. 2000 sources from 250 organizations: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and alternative presses from over 190 countries.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Environment Complete
Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
GreenFILE
1970s - present. Mostly abstracts; some full text. Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

PsycINFO
1887 - present. Citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 journals, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related disciplines.
ScienceDirect
1995 - present. Fulltext access for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations and abstracts prior to 1995 and for journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.

SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
Gale Academic OneFile
1980-present. Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily.

Research Starter

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

Databases for News Articles

Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.

Foreign Affairs Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch
Handbook of Latin American Studies
1936-present. Citations only. Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences. Updated annually.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
PAIS Index
Project MUSE

Google Scholar

A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.

For maximum benefit when off-campus:

Click on Scholar Preferences
Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.

Off-Campus Access

Use your NetID and password to access library resources when off-campus.

WRT 101 Clarke: Articles

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Databases for Scholarly Material

Research Starter

Databases for News Articles

Foreign Affairs Databases

Google Scholar

Off-Campus Access

Library

Resources

Follow Us