Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Stony Brook Southampton Library: Home

Hours, information and resources.


Welcome to the Stony Brook Southampton Library!  We are a full-service library for the SBU Southampton community, and we look forward to assisting you with research, teaching, learning, or simply enjoying our comfortable space.

Southampton Library Hours

Monday - Thursday:  

     9:00am - 9:00pm 


     9:00am - 5:00pm

Southampton Library Phone Number:   (631) 632-5170

Social Media

The library exists in the digital world as well! Check out our social media pages, where you can find the latest updates and events as well as some posts just for fun!


          Southampton Library

          University Libraries


          Southampton Library

          University Libraries


          Southampton Library

Beautiful Campus, Beautiful Study Space

Program and Department Information

Program website

Director:     Nick Mangano


Phone:   (631) 632-5071

Department Address:

          MFA in Theatre
          Southampton Arts - Stony Brook Southampton
          Chancellors Hall
          239 Montauk Highway
          Southampton, NY 11968

Phone:  (631) 632-5010

Associate Provost:      Robert Reeves

Director:                      Christine Vachon
Associate Director:     Magdalene Brandeis 

Department Address:

          20/20/20 Graduate Program in Digital Filmmaking
          Southampton Arts - Stony Brook Southampton & Manhattan
          Chancellors Hall 
          239 Montauk Highway 
          Southampton, NY 11968 



Department Address:

          Editor, TSR: The Southampton Review
          The MFA Program in Writing and Literature
          Stony Brook Southampton
          239 Montauk Highway
          Southampton, New York 11968


Phone:   (631) 632-8700

Fax:        (631) 632-8820

Department Address:

          School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
          Stony Brook University
          Stony Brook, NY 11794-5000


Phone:   631-444-8356 or  631-444-8259

Fax:       631-444-6305


Department Address Southampton:

          Physical Therapy Program

          Stony Brook Southampton

          239 Montauk Hwy 

          Southampton, NY 11968


Department Address Stony Brook:

          Physical Therapy Program

          Stony Brook University

          HSC, SHTM, Level 2

          Stony Brook, NY 11794-8201

Phone:      (631) 444-2363

Assistant to the Chair:     Cathy Gropper 




New Collection: Literary Journals

The library has new subscriptions to several prominent literary journals! Come browse these excellent additions to our collection.

Bellevue Literary Review, a Journal of humanity and human experience published by NYU Langone Medical Center is a literary journal that publishes fiction, nonfiction and poetry about the human body, illness, health and healing. The Bellevue Literary Review is based in Bellevue Hospital, the oldest public hospital in the United States, and has been published by the Department of Medicine at New York University since 2001. Selections from the Bellevue Literary Review have been reprinted in the Pushcart Prize anthology, and have appeared on the notable lists of The Best American EssaysBest American Travel Writing, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading.

The Bellevue Literary Review has published the works of Charles Bukowski,Philip LevineSharon OldsDavid LehmanEamon GrennanJulia Alvarez,Rick MoodyHal SirowitzCharles BarberPeter SelginAmy Hempel,Stephen Dixon, Virgil Suarez, Sheila Kohler, and Jacob M. Appel.

The Bellevue Literary Review hosts an annual writing competition.

Black Warrior Review is named after the river that borders the campus of The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. The city, river, and journal derive their names from the sixteenth-century Indian chief Tuscaloosa, whose name comes from two words of Creek or Choctaw origin—tusca (warrior) and lusa (black).

Established in 1974 by graduate students in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at the University of AlabamaBlack Warrior Review publishes poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and art by Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winners alongside up-and-coming writers. Stories and poems appearing in Black Warrior Review have been reprinted in the Pushcart Prize series, Best American Short Stories, Best American Poetry, New Stories from the South, and other anthologies. Each issue features a chapbook from a nationally known poet.

Conjunctions, is a biannual American literary journal based at Bard College. It was founded in 1981 and is currently edited by Bradford Morrow. Morrow received the PEN/Nora Magid Award for Magazine Editing in 2007.

The journal publishes innovative fiction, poetry, criticism, drama, art and interviews by both emerging and established writers. It provides a forum for nearly 1,000 writers and artists "whose work challenges accepted forms and modes of expression, experiments with language and thought, and is fully realized art," according to the "Letter From the Editor" on its website. It aims to maintain consistently high editorial and production quality with the intention of attracting a large and varied audience. The project is meant to present a wide variety of individual voices.[1] The publication is unusually thick, often containing about 400 pages per issue.

The Notre Dame Review is an independent, non-commercial magazine of contemporary American and international fiction, poetry, criticism and art.  The magazine’s goal is to present a panoramic view of contemporary art and literature—no one style is advocated over another; and it is especially interested in work that takes on big issues by making the invisible seen, that gives voice to the voiceless—work that gives message form through aesthetic experience.  In addition to showcasing celebrated authors like Nobel laureates Seamus Heaney and Czeslaw Milosz, the Notre Dame Review introduces readers to authors they may have never encountered before, but who are doing innovative and important work.  The nd[re]view, the online companion, offers interviews, critique and commentary on authors and artists showcased within the pages of the print magazine. In some cases, additional selections of fiction, poetry or art are presented. In others, readers can hear poets reading from their own work.

New Collection: Graphic Novels

Graphic fiction is an emerging genre.  Cartoons, comics, and graphic novels have been around for a long time, but recently they've seen a huge surge in popularity. Many authors and illustrators have broken free of the stereotype that graphic stories are only about superheroes or for children. Today, you can find graphic novels of all kinds, whether you're looking for riveting science fiction, moving memoirs, immersive fantasy, creative contemporary fiction, gritty historical non-fiction, or something else. The Southampton Library now boasts a sizable graphic novel collection, including bestsellers like Roz Chast's Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, award winners like Art Spiegleman's Maus, and classics like Neil Gaiman's The Sandman.  Discover the new collection in "The Collection" tab.

Special Fall 2015 Hours

The library will have special hours on the following days:

Nov. 25:  9:00am - 5:00pm

Nov. 26 - 27:  CLOSED for Thanksgiving Break

Nov. 30 - Dec. 3:  9:00am - 11:00pm

Dec. 5 - 6:  1:00pm - 5:00pm

Dec. 7 - Dec. 10:  9:00am - 11:00pm

The library will have regular hours on Columbus Day (Oct. 12), Election Day (Nov. 3), and Veterans Day (Nov. 11).

Study Rooms

The library has study rooms available for groups and individuals. Reserve them in advance or feel free to use them if they haven't been reserved! Stop by the front desk or email us to reserve a time.


Have a suggestion for the library? Want to request a book to add to our collection? Have an idea for a library program? Email us!

Special Events

  Writers Speak Wednesdays

Southampton  library  highlights the Writers' Speak Wednesdays 

September 30th, 2015 

Jane Hamilton and Ann Packer

In our collection by Jane Hamilton:


A Map of the World

The Short History of a Prince

The Book of Ruth

In our collection by Ann Packer:

The Dive from Clausen's Pier;

Mendocino and Other Stories

A Sustainable Building

The Southampton Library is an LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Gold Certified building. It received high credits in six categories to achieve its Gold rating: Sustainable Site, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality, and Innovation in Design.

Designed by Mitchell/Giurgola Architects, LLC and engineered by Loring Consulting Engineers, the Southampton Library is an amazing example of green design.

  • At least 35% of the electricity used comes from renewable sources instead of fossil fuels.
  • Daylight harvesting systems are used to reduce artificial lighting. Skylights maximize natural lighting, light fixtures respond to natural light, and lights automatically turn on and off when someone enters a room.
  • The library is designed with ground source heat pumps (GSHP), meaning the Library's central heating and cooling system transfers heat to or from the ground. The heat recovery ventilators which reduce the heating and cooling requirements for the building are designed to significantly reduce the carbon footprint on the environment.
  • A storm water reclamation system is used to collect water for non-potable uses such as flushing toilets and urinals. Rainwater is used to flush waste!

Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) is a non-profit organization that promotes the responsible management of the world's forests. All wood based materials in the library, such as the bamboo ceiling, meet FSC certification, even the furnishings: tables, chairs, cushions, and rugs. The building's materials have been extracted, harvested, recovered, or manufactured within 500 miles of Stony Brook Southampton. These materials include the wood products, metal and acoustical panel ceilings, gyp board, insulation, and the cold formed metal framing. 

The Greenguard Environmental Institute is an independent organization that aims to protect human health and improve quality of life by enhancing indoor air quality and reducing exposure to chemicals and other pollutants. The building uses extensive recycled materials and low emitting materials that are Greenguard Environmental Institute certified.