This is the "Home" page of the "Social Networking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook Univesity Libraries

Social Networking   Tags: facebook, flickr, twitter, web2.0, youtube  

University Libraries Web 2.0. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and more.
Last Updated: May 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/social Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Social Media & Networking?

University Libraries maintains a presence on myriad Web 2.0 social media and networking sites.  These websites are popular "third spaces" that provide us with an opportunity to connect with the SBU Community beyond our physical location and website.  Our reasons for participating include:

  • Outreach Many of our patrons, especially students, are active in social networking sites.  We use sites like Facebook to maintain an online presence that is a gateway to our services, resources, news and events.
  • Interaction/ Reference Social networking sites provide platforms for online interaction.  Many libraries and universities use sites like Twitter to interact with students, faculty and others in the online community.
  • Online Media Library The image sharing site Flickr includes an active community of libraries, universities and institutions (the Smithsonian, the White House, Yale Libraries, Stony Brook University, the Library of Congress, and many more); we use Flickr for easily and effectively organizing and providing access to digital images and collections.
 

@SBULibrary

University Libraries 2.0

  • Library Connections
    Library Connections is the University Libraries online newsletter/ blog. See new and notable, events, collection highlights and more.
  • Facebook
    Includes news, hours, events, photos and Ask A Librarian.
  • Special Collections & University Archives Pinterest
    Special Collections and University Archives is the steward of Stony Brook University's distinct, rare, and unique research collections.
  • Flickr
    Our Flickr photos include Special Collections & University Archives Long Island Postcard Collection, Roth Pond Regatta 2012, and more.
  • Twitter
    We use Twitter to announce library news and events. SBU students, faculty and staff users can use Twitter to post questions to the libraries' Question & Answer online reference service.
  • YouTube
    YouTube is our platform for sharing video tutorials on a number of online research activities.
 

Stony Brook University 2.0

Stony Brook University maintains an active presence on a number of Web 2.0 sites:

Associate Librarian

Profile Image
Darren Chase, MLIS
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Skype
Contact Info
631.632.9830
on campus: 2-9830

Frank Melville, Jr Memorial Library, W-1515
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3300
Send Email

Guide Creator

Profile Image
Kristen Cinar
Contact Info
Send Email
Subjects:
Audio Visual
 
Copyright © 2014 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip