This is the "Home" page of the "Stony Brook University History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Health Sciences Library

Stony Brook University History  

Information and Resources about the History of Stony Brook University
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/sbu-history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Photographs of SBU

View photographs of the university from the book Stony Brook: State University of New York by Kristen J. Nyitray and Ann M. Becker (Arcadia Publishing, 2002, 2007) on the Libraries' Facebook page.

 

 

History of Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, a comprehensive university center in New York State’s public higher education system, emerged from humbler beginnings as a small, teacher preparatory college in Oyster Bay only fifty years ago.  The Board of Trustees of the State University of New York issued their recommendation for the establishment of a new state-supported and operated college on Long Island on April 15, 1955.

After two years of careful deliberations and intensive planning, SUNY announced the opening of the State University College on Long Island. The Board of Regents authorized William Robertson Coe's exquisite 350-acre former arboretum-estate, Planting Fields, as a temporary campus, while a new campus was prepared in historic Stony Brook, on a 480-acre tract of land donated by philanthropist Ward Melville. The first day of classes commenced on September 17, 1957.

One hundred and forty-eight students were enrolled in classes at the tuition-free, State University College on Long Island at Oyster Bay. The College's administrators were served with the mandate to "prepare teachers of science and mathematics for secondary schools and community colleges." Course offerings were initially limited to Humanities, English (Communications), German, Social Sciences, Education, Mathematics, and Natural Science. SUNY expanded the College’s scope a year later to include degree programs in the fields of science, mathematics, and engineering.
More...
 

About Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff.

The department also extends its services to researchers in the wider geographic region, nationally, and internationally. Holdings include: books, manuscripts, and maps dating from the 15th century; the University Archives; audio/visual materials; and a digital repository.

The University Archives is comprised of over 1,000 linear feet of records including faculty files, administration records, photographs, and publications that document the history of the University. The Archives is also the official repository for Stony Brook's master theses and doctoral dissertations and the Stony Brook Authors and Editors Collection.

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact Info
Head, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library, E-2320
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
631.632.7119 (t)
631.632.1829 (f)
Send Email
 
Copyright © 2012 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip