Long Island Documents
George Clinton (1793)
James Jay (1808)
Benjamin Tallmadge (1781)
Nathaniel Woodhull (1776)
Books, Pamphlets, and Journals
To Browse and Read, click HERE.
19th Century American Carriages: Their Manufacture, Decoration, and Use.
Belle Terre: Home of the Belle Terre Club, Port Jefferson, Long Island.
Belle-Terre, “The Tuxedo of Long Island.”
Early Long Island: A Colonial Study.
The Evolution of Long Island: A Story of Land and Sea.
The Ferry Road on Long Island.
The Geology of Long Island, New York.
The History of the Town of Flatbush in Kings County, Long-Island.
Malverne, Long Island.
Our Colored Folks of Nassau and Suffolk Counties, Long Island, N.Y.: A Study of the Conditions of the Colored Population in Twenty Communities and an Inventory of Resources for Work with Them.
Stone House at Gowanus, Scene of the Battle of Long Island.
Library Subject Guides
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Digital Collections at Stony Brook University Libraries
1,037 views this year
George Washington Letters at Stony Brook University
Special Collections acquired two exciting American Revolutionary War-era letters authored by George Washington that document spy activities in Setauket, NY during 1779 and 1780. The purchase of these letters was made possible with a generous gift from Dr. Henry Laufer and laid the foundation for the establishment of a Long Island Historic Documents Collection. The collection includes primary and secondary source material on the history of Long Island from the earliest settlers through the present, with a strong emphasis on the period of the American Revolution through the War of 1812 (1764-1812).
Visit the LibGuide for George Washington and the Culper Spy Ring for more information and resources about this topic.
George Washington letter, September 24, 1779
- view the George Washington letter, September 24, 1779 (recto)
- view the George Washington letter, September 24, 1779 (verso)
- finding aid
George Washington letter, September 26, 1780

Long Island Collections
Recent News
The university’s James Jay letter (1808) is featured in the August 2, 2012 edition of The Village Times Herald. James Jay (1732 -1815), American physician and politician, and elder brother of John Jay, supplied medicines to George Washington during the American Revolutionary War and developed an invisible ink used by Washington, Thomas Jefferson, his younger brother, John Jay, and members of the Culper Spy Ring.
Historian and author Beverly C. Tyler writes, “With the acquisition of an 1808 letter…Special Collections and University Archives at Stony Brook University has again acquired a valuable Revolutionary-War era document.”
Please click here to access the entire article (page A9) and visit the website of Special Collections and University Archives for more information about this letter.
Special Collections and University Archives at SBU
Special Collections and University Archives at Stony Brook University select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff.
The department also extends its services to researchers in the wider geographic region, nationally, and internationally.The collection includes: books, manuscripts, and maps dating from the 17th century; the University Archives; audio/visual materials; and a digital repository. All are welcome to explore the library's unique collections. For more information about the collections, visit the department's website at http://www.stonybrook.edu/libspecial.
Department Head & Associate Librarian |
Contact Info Head, Special Collections & University Archives University Archivist Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library, E-2320 Stony Brook University Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323 631.632.7119 (t) kristen.nyitray@stonybrook.edu Send Email |
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info (631) 632-7119 on campus: 2-7119 Fax: (631) 632-1829 Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library, E2320 Stony Brook University Stony Brook, NY11794-3323 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
About This Guide
LibGuide by Kristen J. Nyitray: Associate Librarian; Head of Special Collections and University Archives; and University Archivist at Stony Brook University Libraries.







Loading...
