This is the "Home" page of the "Long Island Historical Journal: Digital Edition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Health Sciences Library

Long Island Historical Journal: Digital Edition   Tags: digital collection, history, long island, peer-reviewed articles  

Last Updated: Jun 8, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/lihj Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the LIHJ

The Long Island Historical Journal (LIHJ) is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal founded by Roger Wunderlich at Stony Brook University (SBU).

Thirty-two issues were published by the Department of History and the Center for Regional Policy Studies at SBU between 1988 and 2008.

The journal contains substantive, original scholarship about the history of Long Island - Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties – set in a regional, national and global context. The LIHJ also features reviews of books and exhibitions.

The print edition of the LIHJ was digitized in May 2011. The files were uploaded to DSpace (State University of New York’s Digital Repository) and cataloged by Kristen J. Nyitray, Head, Special Collections and University Archives and University Archivist.  

In 2009, the LIHJ was renamed the Long Island History Journal. It is now published exclusively in digital format by the Center for Global and Local History at SBU.

Google Scholar



 

SEARCH the Long Island Historical Journal (1988 to 2008)

Search Strategies

Several access points have been created to enhance discovery of the content published in the LIHJ.

*Please note that search and browse results will yield a list of the issues in which a word or phrase appears. The PDF(s) will then need to be opened (select “view/open”) to access the content. Each issue of the journal is comprised of one PDF.

The same content can also be accessed via the website of Stony Brook University's DSpace repository.

Keyword: the text of the LIHJ is keyword-searchable. Words and phrases can be entered in the search bar located at top, center of the webpage (“search within this collection”). Searches for specific phrases can be refined by placing quotes around the text.

Author: the author index can also be accessed from the DSpace website by clicking on “Browse by: Authors” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection – Authors”

Subject Headings: Library of Congress subject headings have been assigned to the featured articles. The index can also be accessed by clicking on “Browse by: Subjects” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection -- Subjects”

Table of Contents: a master list of the contents for each issue has been compiled. It will appear as the first result after clicking on “Browse by: Titles” located at the top, center of the webpage or on the left side menu bar under “Browse – This Collection – Titles”

 

Roger Wunderlich, Founding Editor of the LIHJ

Excerpted from Volume 1, Number 1 (Fall 1988):

“Welcome to the first issue of the Long Island Historical Journal, a publication devised to present Long Island as America. Our aim is to place the Island’s record within the framework of history, reflecting as well as contributing to the principal phases of national life. By "Long Island” we mean its four components - Nassau, Brooklyn, Suffolk, and Queens; our concept of “national life” traverses the great chain of experience from pre-colonial times to the present.

As we are proud to be sponsored by the State University of New York at Stony Brook, so are we pleased that our Boards comprise a cross section of academic and cultural centers. We hope to serve as a magnet, attracting original studies by known or first-time writers who meet our standards of scholarship, style, and substance. Most issues will offer interpretive studies of varied topics and periods. Occasionally our focus will be on a single crucial concept, as in the Fall of 1989 we examine Long Island as Island - the Sound, Bay, and bridges, the whalers and fishers, the shipbuilders, traders, and mariners. We set to work with no preconceptions, no plan to gloss or glorify. We are mindful of William Pelletreau’s observation, in 1874, that in the pages of his history, “those who believe that the settlement was formed entirely of God- fearing and virtuous men [and women] ... will find much ... that will fail to support these views.” And we also hold with Nathaniel S. Prime, another Long Island historian, who in 1845 urged Islanders to remember their “noble ancestry,” the pioneers who “took up their residence in a trackless wilderness, for the rights of conscience and the enjoyment of liberty.”

We pledge to be erudite but readable, to clarify rather than chronicle, and to stimulate unbiased study of a region rich in background that has not received its due attention. All who think of Long Island as home are invited to subscribe to and participate in this new and needed publication.”

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact Info
Head, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library, E-2320
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
631.632.7119 (t)
631.632.1829 (f)
Send Email
 

Cover: Volume 20, Numbers 1-2 (Fall 2007/Spring 2008)

Copyright © 2013 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip