Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Using the Internet for Historical Research: HOME

How To Use This Guide

Hello!  This guide is designed to give you easier access to the extensive tools and resources available for historical research on the internet. It highlights various digital collections and brings together .  If you have suggestions for other helpful tools or web sites, please let me know.

Use the tab menu at the top of the page to access:

  • Digital Collections
  • E-books
  • Newspapers & Magazines
  • Audio-visual
  • Maps
  • Online Tools
  • Wikipedia as a Tool
  • Information on Evaluating Internet Resources
  • and more.

If you need help or have a comment you can contact me -- my information is on the right sidebar.

Related Subject Guides

Featured Web Site

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Details of 35,000 slaving voyages to facilitate the study of cultural, demographic, and economic change in the Atlantic world from the late sixteenth to the mid-nineteenth centuries. Trends and cycles in the flow of African captives from specific coastal outlets should provide scholars with new, basic information useful in examining the relationships among slaving, warfare—in both Africa and Europe—political instability, and climatic and ecological change, among other forces. 

The database itself contains thousands of names of ship owners and ship captains, while the web site provides the African names of and personal information about 67,004 captives who were found on board slave vessels detained by naval cruisers attempting to suppress the slave trade in the nineteenth century. These people can be searched and analyzed using the names interface.

The National Endowment for the Humanities is the principal sponsor of the project, and it is an Emory University Digital Library Research Initiative.

Library Resources and the Open Web

The Library provides access to over 300 article databases and digital collections containing high quality content that may not be available on the free, open Web. These sites contain information that is evaluated by editors, librarians, and specialists in their fields of study. They contain information like journal and newspaper articles, data & statistics, and specialized images, video and audio content.

To access the Library’s collection of online resources--information suited for researchers, scholars and students, see our DATABASES Homepage.

Search for a database by SUBJECT (History) or TITLE (JSTOR).

You can also use resources on the open web to help you find books and other items in our Library, or in archives around the country.  Google Books, for example, searches through the entire contents of a book, which can help you find items in our collection that would not show up in STARS, the library catalog.

Librarian

Chris Filstrup
Contact:
Chemistry Library

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY 11794
631-632-2603