Research & Subject Guides: Government Documents & Information: Federal Websites

General Federal Government Websites

General

Copyright.gov
Apply for copyrights online, search copyright records, and read about the relevant rules and regulations. Includes links to federal and international copyright law, regulations, proposed legislation, forms, factsheets and restored copyrights.
GobiernoUSA.gov
GobiernoUSA.gov es el sitio oficial en español del Gobierno de los Estados Unidos y ofrece información oficial y actualizada sobre programas y servicios gubernamentales a nivel federal, estatal y local acerca de una variedad de temas, incluyendo inmigración, empleo, beneficios federales, negocios, vivienda, educación, salud, nutrición seguridad y mucho más.
more...less...
GobiernoUSA.gov is the official website in Spanish of the Government of the United States and provides official and updated information on government programs and services to federal, state and local levels on a range of issues including immigration , employment , federal benefits , business , housing , education , health, nutrition, safety and more.
GPO, Government Publishing Office
The U.S Government Publishing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world and serves as the research arm of Congress, through the Congressional Research Service (CRS).
List of Federal Government Websites
From the Louisiana State University Libraries, a directory of federal agencies including boards, commissions, committees, executive, independent, judicial, legislative, and quasi-official.
Publications.USA.gov
Publications.USA.gov is operated by the Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), U.S. General Services Administration. It serves as a central source of information about federal government publications helpful to citizens.
Thomas
Federal legislative information. THOMAS includes information such as bills and resolutions, activity in Congress, Congressional Record, schedules & calendars, committee information, presidential nominations, treaties, and other government resources relevant to the legislative process.
USA.gov
Government Agencies, Contacts, Services and information by Topics. Your first stop for publically accessible government information

Government Related Websites

C-SPAN
Federal Websites For and About American Indians
A guide to federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans.
GAO, U.S. Government Accountability Office
An independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog" the GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayers dollars.
National Council on Disability
Publications, policy briefs, NCD publications. Very current and up to date.
more...less...
Formed in 1978, the National Council on Disability (NCD) is “an independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities.”
TRAIL; technical report archive & image library
Led by the University of Arizon, TRAIL identifies, digitizes, archives and provides access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Some of the report series included are from the Atomic Energy Commission, National Bureau of Standards (monographs) and the Bureau of Mines.
more...less...
"Technical reports communicate research progress in technology and science. These highly detailed reports contain valuable information serving specialized audiences of researchers. While availability to more recent (1994–current) technical report literature has greatly improved with Internet access, legacy technical report documents remain elusive to researchers. Most large research libraries across the country have sizeable collections of federally funded technical research reports—frequently a million or more ranging from several pages to several hundred pages.
General Services Administration
Independent of the government charged with managing federal procurement and public property. Website includes consumer information and government property for sale,

Business, Labor & Taxes

Business USA
A "one-stop shop for everything related to business in the USA".
Department of Labor
The Department of Labor (DOL) administers and enforces more than 180 federal laws.

Congress

Congress.Gov (replaces THOMAS.gov)
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site. The site includes materials on current and past legislation, the Daily Digest version of the Congressional Record, links to Congessional committees, their hearings and reports (1995-present) and an explanation of the Legislative Process.

Data & Statistics

Data.gov
The first national open data site that makes public machine-readable data sets from the government's executive branch.

Education Related Websites

American Memory--Learning Page
From the Library of Congress (LC), classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from LC's vast digital collections in their teaching
Digest of Education Statistics
Provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
more...less...
Topics include the number of school and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances; federal funds for education; employment and income of graduates; libraries; technology; and international comparisons.
Library of Congress, Teaching with Primary Sources
VITAL New York Teachers' Domain: Educational Digital Media for Your Classroom
Online library of more than 3,500 resources from the best of public television.
Department of Education
A resource for educational policy, data, issues and federal assistance to schools.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.

Health & Environment

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
For maps and spatial data.
HealthCare.gov
The website for finding health care as mandated in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (nicknamed Obamacare).
HHS, U.S. Department of Health & Human Serivices
The government's principal agency for protecting the health of Americans and providing essential human services for those unable to provie for themselves.

Justice and Security

Department of Homeland Security
Official website of the Department of Homeland Security whose goal is to keep America safe.
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Official website of the CIA. Library tab includes publications such as The World Factbook, Maps at CIA, and Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments. There is a historical collection of CIA publications. Also includes the Freedom of Information Electronic Reading Room, intelligence literature, reports, declassified documents, and links to various CIA offices

Science & Technology

NASA.gov brings you images, videos, and interactive features from the unique perpsective of America's space agency.

NOAA.gov The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere.

NTIS.gov
The National Technical Reports Library. Free public access to a searchable database of federal science and technology research.

Government Documents & Information: Federal Websites