Using the best current evidence for patient decision making.
Last Updated: Jul 1, 2014
- The Value of Library and Information Services in Patient Care: Results of a Multisite Study
Of the 16,122 survey respondents, 3/4 said that they had definitely or probably handled aspects of the patient care situation differently as a result of the information. Among the reported changes were advice given to the patient (48%), diagnosis (25%), and choice of drugs (33%), other treatment (31%), and tests (23%). Almost all of the respondents (95%) said the information resulted in a better informed clinical decision.
Respondents reported that the information allowed them to avoid the following adverse events: patient misunderstanding of the disease (23%), additional tests (19%), misdiagnosis (13%), adverse drug reactions (13%), medication errors (12%), and patient mortality (6%).
What is EBM?
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values.
- by best research evidence we mean clinically relevant research, often from the basic sciences of medicine, but especially from patient centered clinical research into the accuracy and precision of diagnostic tests (including the clinical examination), the power of prognostic markers, and the efficacy and safety of therapeutic, rehabilitative, and preventive regimens. New evidence from clinical research both invalidates previously accepted diagnostic tests and treatments and replaces them with new ones that are more powerful, more accurate, more efficacious, and safer.
- by clinical expertise we mean the ability to use our clinical skills and past experience to rapidly identify each patient's unique health state and diagnosis, their individual risks and benefits of potential interventions, and their personal values and expectations.
- by patient values we mean the unique preferences, concerns and expectations each patient brings to a clinical encounter and which must be integrated into clinical decisions if they are to serve the patient.
When these three elements are integrated, clinicians and patients form a diagnostic and therapeutic alliance which optimizes clinical outcomes and quality of life.
From: The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Toronto
- ACP Journal Club
Find summaries for the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals, it is now a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine.
- ACP Smart Medicine
ACP Smart MedicineSM the only clinical decision support tool developed by a professional society, it provides original content specifically developed for internal medicine.
- Cases Database
Produced by BioMed Central, this free-to-use database contains over 33,000 peer-reviewed medical case reports from 270 journals.
- Cochrane Library
Consists of six parts: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- PubMed Clinical Queries
Use the clinical study categories for therapy, etiology, diagnosis, prognosis, or clinical prediction guides
- PuBMed Linkout
Search PubMed and link to the full-text of journal articles available from the Health Sciences Library
- STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts
Relevant and meaningful EBM information focused on your healthcare interests delivered via email alerts
- TRIP Database
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice
The GRADE approach is used to classify both the strength of recommendation and the quality of the underlying information. To view a topic's graded recommendations (both the grade and letter) click on the "Summary and Recommendations" button at outline top.
- The Information Literacy User’s Guide: An Open, Online Textbook
This Open SUNY textbook introduces students to critical concepts of information literacy as defined for the information-infused and technology-rich environment in which they find themselves.
It assists students examine their roles as information creators and sharers and enables them to more effectively deploy related skills. This textbook includes relatable case studies and scenarios, many hands-on exercises, and interactive quizzes.
To schedule an appointment for an in-depth consultation with a reference librarian call 631-444-3099.