Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Faculty Resources: Home

People Who Can Help

Reference Services: The Reference Desk is located in the Central Reading Room (CRR)

See the Reference Services page for a complete list of phone, email, and chat services and contact information.

Subject Specialists: Get to know the Librarian for your subject area - one of your best resources.

Online Resources: For help with online resources call Library eResources at 631.632.1811 or 631.632.9959, or email liberesources@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

Quick Contact Numbers

Main Library Circulation
631.632.7115

Central Reading Room / General Reference
631.632.7110

North Reading Room / Science & Engineering Library
631.632.7148

Online Resource Assistance
631.632.1811 or 631.632.9959

Inter Library Loan
631.632.7117

Basic Information

STARS is the library catalog

Stony Brook ID card = library card

Remote Access to Online Library Resources: Use your NetID and NetID password for remote authentication to online library resources. Be sure to use the links on the library web pages to ensure proper authentication

Circulation Policy: 98 books, semester loan (except branches) for grads and instructors

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online via STARS

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/book – Card is blocked at $5

Recalls: must be done in person at a Circ desk; Holds can be done online via STARS

Photocopies: $.10 a page. You can put money on your university ID for copy machines. Copy machines also accept change and bills. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

See All Library Policies

Citation Management

EndNote is a software package that helps you build your own searchable database of references that can be formatted into bibliographies in many different styles. EndNote can import search results from database searches, i.e. from a Compendex search. You can download a copy of EndNote from the Campus Software Distribution Page / Softweb

Zotero is a Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. See the installation directions.

Watch the Workshop schedule for sessions on Citation management with EndNote or Zotero.

Teaching? We Can Help!

Request a tour or workshop
Customized library instruction, tours, and workshops are available for your classes. There are also regluarly scheduled, open workhops. See the complete Workshop Schedule for more info. You can also get started on your own with the Library Research Guide tutorial.

Course Reserves
Reserve books and articles from periodicals, as well as electronic resources, for the use of students enrolled in your classes. You may place hard copy materials through library reserve desks, on-line either using personal Blackboard web-pages, or on-line in the Library’s Electronic Reserves system. Fill out the online form or make your request(s) in person - allow a week to process

Study rooms are available on the 2nd floor of the Central Reading Room and North Reading Room in Melville Library.

When linking to library resources it is very important to correctly format links  in order to ensure off-campus access. If you need assistance formatting a library URL for use in Blackboard or on a course webpage, please call Library eResources at 631.632.1811 or 632-9959 for help, or email them at liberesources@notes.cc.sunysb.edu.

Proxy Borrowing (Giving your TA borrowing privileges for you)

You may authorize your TA or RA to charge out Library materials on your behalf.

Under this arrangement, you agree to be responsible for any materials borrowed on your behalf, including the return of all materials or the payment of replacement charges of items that are lost or damaged.

Proxy authorization may be granted up to the designated expiration date, and may be renewed as necessary, by completing the form again.

You must use the Proxy Borrower form to authorize someone to borrow materials on your behalf.

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million volumes; another 4 million volumes in microforms; 400 databases; 70,000 e-journals; 2,500+ e-books, 10,000 CDs, and over 8,500 films.

The Central Reading Room and Music Library are on the on 1st floor of Melville Library. The entrance to the Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences collections) is on the 3rd Floor.

The Science & Engineering Library is in the North Reading Room, also on 1st floor of Melville Library. 

Branch libraries in separate locations on campus include the Chemistry Library (Chemistry Bld C-215), the Marine & Atmospheric Science Information Center / MASIC (165 Challenger Hall), and the Math/Physics/Astronomy Library (Physics Building C-124).

See the Locations and Floor guides page for more info.

The Health Sciences Library is located on the East Campus.

Other Relevant Guides

Search for Articles

Don't Have It?

Interlibrary Loan

Using Other Libraries

RLG Libraries (Research Library Group): Current SBU ID. Call ahead - generally can’t borrow material. Columbia, NYU, the New York Public Library, Yale, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, and the University of Pennsylvania.

Research Loan Program: Libraries on LI: Hofstra, Dowling, Adelphi, Saint Joseph’s College, Public Libraries. Come to the Reference Desk here at Stony Brook and we fill out a form for you.

Get a library card from New York Public Library and your local public library such as those in Suffolk and Nassau counties