The top databases for literary criticisms & research are listed below.
Coverage spans 1280 - present. Criticisms are published from 1884-present.
Search criticisms by author -- authors from 8th century to present day.
ex: Aesop (view texts and criticisms)
Search criticisms by general subject -- criticisms published from 1884 - present.
Search texts -- includes a library of 350,000 texts from 1477 - present day.
ex: Paradise Lost (full text with annotations -- Penguin Classics edition)
Coverage as early as the 1600s until 1 year ago. Archive of scholarly journals (scanned pages).
Excellent resource for scholarly articles in a variety of disciplines. Criticisms can be found by searching ["title of work" literary criticism] in search bar.
Date coverage varies. Critical essays searchable by work or author. Featured Authors & Featured Works
ex: Margaret Atwood
ex: Frankenstein
Topic finder (words most frequently used in articles about an author or work)
Term frequency (how often and author or work ismentioned over a period of time)
A collection of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700.
About the LibrariesOur collection includes over 2 million books and e-books, over 100,000 e-journals; over 600 databases, and another 3.8 million titles in microforms. The North Reading Room (Science & Engineering Library), Central Reading Room, and Music Library are on the 1st floor of Melville Library. The Main Stacks entrance is on the 3rd floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well. Special Collections & University Archives is located on the 2nd floor of Melville Library. Schedule an appointment to see the extensive collection of manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, and more. The Health Sciences Library is located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online. |
Getting Help- Ask Us - Email: Library_Reference@stonybrook.edu - Phone: 631-632-7148. |
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
