Library Information
Chemistry Library
299 Graduate Chemistry Building
Open 8:30am - 5pm Mon - Fri
631-632-7150
News and Events
The Client Version of SciFinder was discontinued on June 30, 2011.
The client/desktop version will no longer be available. Users need to register for the web version of SciFinder. For more information on accessing SciFinder Web, click on the following link: https://libproxy.cc.stonybrook.edu/loggedin/scifinder.html
Have an iphone, ipad, or Android? Check out the mobile apps for chemistry page. Click here.
Need to find spectra? Download the academic version of KnowItAll which includes access to Sadtler Spectroscopy Handbooks.
C&E News
Loading...
Finding Chemical Information at SBU
Finding Chemical Properties
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- SciFinder Web
- Reaxys
- Materials Properties Locator Tool- find out where to find specific property data
- ASM Handbooks Online - resource for metal and alloy properties
Finding Structures
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics- available online and in print
- SciFinder Web
- Reaxys
Finding Reaction Data
Chemistry Databases
- SciFinder1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database. Available only to Stony Brook faculty, students, and staff.
- ReaxysChemical information database including content from the Crossfire databases, Beilstein and Gmelin. Search inorganic, organic or organometallic substances. Reaction, citation and experimental data are available in this database. Some patent information is also available.
- Web of Science(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
- PuBMed LinkoutSearch biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
- ChemSpider
Searches and links compound data for millions of chemical structures. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCorresponds to the 89th edition (2009) of the printed book. Coverage of all types of physical science data. Presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables. Substances in these tables can be retrieved by searching on name, formula, or CAS Registry Number, and Structure.
- Science of SynthesisFulltext. Contains information on organic and organometallic synthetic strategies. Includes access to Houben-Weyl.
- Spectral Databases for Organic CompoundsIncludes various types of spectra such as EI-MS, FT-IR, ESR, C-NMR and H-NMR.
- Cambridge Structural DatabaseContains crystal structure information, chemical, and bibliographic data for over 400,000 organic and metal-organic compounds. The Client version of the software is available for loan in the Chemistry Library and is also loaded on the Chemistry Sinc site computers and the virtual Sinc Site at: https://vss.sinc.stonybrook.edu/
- PubMed1950-present. Full-text and Citations to millions of articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine. Includes all of Medline, as well as additional resources.
- PubChemContains information on the biological activity of small molecules.
- Google Scholar
- Organic Syntheses1921-present. Full-text synthetic procedures. Collection of reliable procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- Dissertations@Stony BrookSBU PhD and MS thesis online in full-text from 1997- present.
- ENVIROnetBASE
Fulltext. Collection of 347 e-books that gather critical research, analytical, and policymaking reference works on subjects ranging from ecological risk assessment and environmental toxicology to GIS, remote sensing, and industrial hygiene. - e-ROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisSearch for information on specific reagents and catalysts. Works with ChemDraw and ISIS/Draw.
- NIST Data GatewayNIST online databases include the Chemistry WebBook which contains spectra and property data.
- ASM Handbooks OnlineCurrent. Fulltext. Complete content of 24 ASM Handbook volumes, plus two ASM Desk Editions.
- Oxford Reference Online: PremiumIncludes the Dictionary of Chemistry as well as other science dictionaries.
- Matweb
- Springer MaterialsSearchable interface of Landolt-Bornstein volumes, chemical safety documents, and thermodynamic property data.
Chemistry & Biology Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |





Loading...
