This is the "HOME" page of the "HIS 412: Presidential Assassinations in Historical Perspective" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook Univesity Libraries

HIS 412: Presidential Assassinations in Historical Perspective  

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/HIS412Tomes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

HOME Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Resources and Subject Guides

History
by William Glenn - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
Resources for Research in History
644 views this year
Primary Sources
by William Glenn, Kristen Nyitray - Last Updated Mar 13, 2014
927 views this year
Using the Internet for Historical Research
by William Glenn - Last Updated May 21, 2014
175 views this year
History - Research Resources for Graduate Students
by William Glenn - Last Updated Dec 11, 2013
80 views this year
 

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million books, over 70,000 e-journals; nearly 400 databases, and another 2 million titles in microforms.

The Central Reading Room (Main Reference Desk), Science & Engineering Library (North Reading Room) and Music Library are on the on 1st floor of Melville Library. The entrance to the Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences collections) is on the 3rd Floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

The Health Sciences Library is separate library system located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

Circulation Policy: 50 books for undergraduates; one-month borrowing period.  Also, 3 DVDs, with a one-week borrowing period.

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online via STAR.

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/book – Card is blocked at $5.

Recalls/Holds can be done online via STARS.

Photocopies: $.10 a page. You can put money on your student ID for copy machines. Copy machines also accept change and bills. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

Spotlight Resources

Here are some of the top online resources for HIS 412:

  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
  • JSTOR
    Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
  • Project MUSE - Premium Collection
    Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
  • New York Times (Historical)
    1851-3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
 

Some Search Tricks

Here are some easy tricks that can help with your searching:

Putting an AND between words will search for BOTH words on a webpage or in an article.  When you do a normal Google search, you are doing an AND search.

EXAMPLE: immigration and employment will only give you web pages or articles that have both of those words.  This means you will get fewer results, but they should be better results.

Putting QUOTATION MARKS around a phrase will search for web pages or articles that have that exact phrase.  This is a very useful trick.  It will cut down on the number of bad results.  Be careful not to include too many words inside the quotation marks, because that's EXACTLY what will be searched.

EXAMPLE: “genetic engineering” will only give you web pages or articles with that exact phrase.  Other examples are "climate change," "no child left behind," "body image."

An ASTERISK (*) search is very useful when similar words are being used to talk about a topic.  It searches for all the various words using the same root.

EXAMPLE: comput* will give you articles that have the words compute, computer, computing, etc.  Or: educat* will search for educate, education, educator, educators, etc.

Putting an OR between words will give you articles with at least one of the words.  This will give you more results.  It can be useful when you're not sure which word is being used more.

EXAMPLE: fat OR obesity will give web pages and articles that have the word fat.  And it will give you web pages and articles that have the word obesity.

Use (Parentheses) to group multiple search terms together.  You're basically doing TWO searches at the same time.

EXAMPLE: debt and (teenagers or adolescents) will give you web pages or articles that have the words debt and teenagers and web pages and articles that have the words debt and adolescents.


Librarian

Profile Image
William Glenn, MLIS
Contact Info
Stony Brook University
Melville Library, C2634
(631) 632-7334
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

To help improve this guide, please let me know what you think about it.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Copyright © 2014 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip