Federal Regulations
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Documents & Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook Univesity Libraries

Government Documents & Information serves the university community and the general public. It is a depository library for Federal, State & Local government information.
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/government-information Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Government Documents & Information Collection Overview

Federal Depository Library

Find Us

We are located in the Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library on the second floor of the Reference area. To find us enter the Central Reading Room of the Melville Library, walk past the first archway and the Information/Reference Desk and then go right through the second archway.  On your right you will see the stairs up to the Government Documents, Office: Room C-2601.  

History

Federal Depository Library

Stony Brook University Libraries has been a selective governnment depository library, a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since 1963. There are approximately 1150 libraries designated by GPO, the Government Printing Office, as Federal Depository Libraries.  Currently we select about 47% of all available government documents. Depository materials are available in paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, and online. We also obtain a large number of maps and a variety of legal materials from this program.

The collection supports the general research and teaching needs of the University.  We also support the government information needs of the constituents of the 1st Congressional District of New York State. 

New York State Depository Library

We have been a New York State Depository (microfilm, microfiche, selected paper and electronic documents) since 1964. 

Suffolk County

The documents area also collects some Suffolk County Documents, such as Annual Budgets.   

We own a small law collection, which focuses on New York State and Federal law (see Law tab of this guide). 

Many of our government documents can be found in our catalog STARS and by our Discovery Tool SBU Find.  Documents from 1976 to the present that are not in those databases may also be found by checking in the database Government Documents Cataloging Service (GDCS) catalog.  

Mission

The collection supports the general research and teaching needs of the students, faculty and staff of Stony Brook University.  It is also open to the public as mandated by Public Law 44 USC Chapters 19 and 41.   Our mission is to provide access and instruction and to help to our patrons in finding Government Documents & Information in paper, microform, CD/DVD or online formats.  Help in using government and law information is available at the Reference Desk in the Central Reading Room (632-7110, ask for Reference) and by appointment (call Elaine Hoffman at 631-632-1151). 

Find Documents

Government Documents Stacks

 

 

Many of our government documents may be found in our catalog STARS and our Discovery Tool SBU Find.  Documents from 1976 to the present that are not in those databases may also be found by checking in the database Government Documents Cataloging Service (GDCS) catalog.  

  • STARS
    Many (but not all) of the government documents that Stony Brook owns are cataloged and found via STARS, the Stony Brook Automated Retrieval System. Search the direct title or author if you know them. If not do a keyword search or if you're looking for a SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) number you may search by Government Number.
  • FDsys - Government Publications  
      
    FDsys provides free online access to official federal government publications. Provides search and browse functions for documents and publications.
  • Catalog of Government Publications
    The newest finding tool for federal publications. it includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word. Advanced searching is also available.

Librarian

Profile Image
Sally Stieglitz
Contact Info
C2621, Melville Library
On campus: 2-1552
Off campus: (631) 632-1552
Send Email

Ask the Government Documents Librarian

Ask Us a Question

Fields marked with * are required.
Copyright © 2014 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip