Research & Subject Guides: Psychology: Find Articles & Databases

Finding Articles and Databases

Much of the peer reviewed research you're looking for has been published as articles in academic journals. You can find a lot of those articles and journals by using library databases.

No one database contains everything so using more than one is an effective search strategy. And if you find a citation that is not full text in any database, use Interlibrary Loan.

This is a suggested list of databases that will cover many psychology-related research topics.

Academic Search Complete Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Date coverage varies. Citations and fulltext. Covers the nursing and allied health literature, providing fulltext for more than 620 journals.
Cochrane Library 1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
Education Source Full text & Abstracts. 1929-present. The database is a compilation of previous education databases, specifically Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983), Education Abstracts, Full Text, and Research Complete. Full text supplied for more than 1700 journals, 200 extra full-text journals and 550+ books. Also included are conference papers, article citations, and links to some ERIC documents. Subjects covered include adult and continuing education, distance learning, government funding, multicultural/ethnic education, social issues, student counseling, vocational education and more. Levels covered range from early childhood to higher education.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine 1980-present. Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
PsycARTICLES Date coverage varies, mostly 1985-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Coverage dates vary. Full text. A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO 1887-present. Citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 journals, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related disciplines.
PubMed Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
SAGE Journals Academic, scholarly and research articles on subjects in humanities, medicine, sciences and social sciences. Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Web of Science (Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.

For more information, please visit our website.

Request via ILL