Hours
Summer Hours (5/28-8/15)
Monday - Thursday: 830-7PM
Friday: 830-5PM
CLOSED: Saturday and Sunday
Closed 7/4/13
Circulation Information
Friends of the Music Library
Want to become a friend of the Music Library? Fill out the application below. If you're an OLLI member please fill out the second application below:
Music Databases
Click here for a full list of Databases
- SBUFind Stony Brook University Library Catalog
- *STARS* Stony Brook University Library Catalog
- Academic Search Complete
- ARTstor
- Bridge: Worldwide Music Connection
- Britannica Online Academic Edition
- Classical Scores Library
- Dissertations@Stony Brook
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
- EBSCOhost EJS
- ERIC
- Harvard Online Resources for Music Scholars
- Index to Printed Music
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
- JSTOR
- The Library Music Source
- Music In Print Series
- Music Index Online
- National Newspaper Index
- The National Jukebox
- Naxos Music Library
- New York Times Archive
- Opera in Video
- Oxford Art Online
- Oxford Music Online
- Petrucci Music Library
- Retrospective Indext to Music Periodicals (RIPM)
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
- RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Web of Science
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
- WorldCat.org
Emerson String Quartet

G.Schierhorst meets Emerson String Quartet, Staller Center, 2/10/11
See the Music Library
| www.flickr.com |
Welcome to the Music Library

With nearly 120,000 items, the Stony Brook University Music Library has one of the largest music collections on Long Island. Our facilities, materials and services support the teaching, performance and research activities of the University’s prestigious Music Department.
Location: Melville Library, 1st Floor West Wing, room W-1530.
Phone: 631-632-7097
Email: music_library@stonybrook.edu
Live Recording Request
New Databases
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals indexes over 2,000 journals that address 19th-century music and musical life, and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text)
Classical Scores Library contains 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores. Classical Scores Library Volume II (coming soon) will contain 200,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 10,000 scores. This release includes 586 scores and 17,083 pages.
Harvard Online Resouces for Music Scholars provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites.
The Library Music Source database, which provides orchestral parts crucial for auditions and performances, has been added to the collection.
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Developed by the Library of Congress, with assets provided by Sony Music Entertainment, the National Jukebox offers free online access to a vast selection of music and spoken-word recordings produced in the U.S. between the years 1901 and 1925.
Bridge: Worldwide Music Connection provides 24 hour online access to 3,000 opportunities in music and arts administration. New listings for auditions, teaching positions, administrative positions, competitions, grants, scholarships, and festivals are posted every day.
Top Picks
- Oxford Music Online1990s-present. Fulltext. A reference authority on all fields of music. Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz), and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Naxos Music Library2004-present. Listen to over 170,000 tracks (11,500 CDs) from the Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs, plus other independent labels. Selections are principally from the area of classical music, as well as from jazz, blues, world, and Chinese music. Browser must be set to allow cookies for access to this database.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Published by Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. Contains records for over 500 scholarly journals in over 200 languages.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text1996-present. Citations, abstracts and/or fulltext. Includes more than 400 music periodicals from over 20 countries.
- Petrucci Music LibraryThe free public domain sheet music library.
Welcome to the Petrucci Music Library! Our goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. - GroovesharkListen to any song in the world for free. Create free internet radio stations. Search for free mp3's to stream.
Contact Information
john.amrhein@stonybrook.edu
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Music |














Loading...
