Skip to main content
SBU Home   |   Library Account   |   Course Reserves   |   Suggestion Box



Stony Brook University

Citations & Plagiarism: Books

This guide can help you learn how to properly format your bibliographies and papers in AMA, APA, Chicago and MLA citation styles, and avoid plagiarism.

MLA Books

Remember, all citations should be double spaced and use hanging indentation!

Type of Source Entry on a Reference List Example
Book with One Author

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

 

Henley, Patricia. The Hummingbird House. Denver: MacMurray, 1999. Print.
Book with more than One Author

First author name is written last name first; subsequent author names are written first name, last name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Meduim of publication.

Gillespie, Paula, and Neal Lerner. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Peer Tutoring. Boston: Allyn, 2000. Print.
Book with more than Three Authors If there are more than three authors, you may choose to list only the first author followed by the phrase et al. in place of the subsequent authors' names, or you may list all the authors in the order in which their names appear on the title page. Wysocki, Anne Frances, et al. Writing New Media: Theory and Applications for Expanding the Teaching of Composition. Logan, UT: Utah State UP, 2004. Print.
Book by a Corporate Author

Name of Sponsoring Corperation. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Meduim of publication.

American Allergy Association. Allergies in Children. New York: Random, 1998. Print.

Book with No Author

Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Meduim of publication.

Encyclopedia of Indiana. New York: Somerset, 1993. Print.
Book, Later Edition

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Medium of publication.

Crowley, Sharon, and Debra Hawhee. Ancient Rhetorics for Contemporary Students. 3rd ed. New York: Pearson/Longman, 2004. Print.
Edited Book

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Editor. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of publication.

Bronte, Charlotte. Jane Eyre. Ed. Margaret Smith. Oxford: Oxford UP, 1998. Print.
Anthology

Lastname, First name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection. Ed. Editor's Name(s). Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Page range of entry. Medium of Publication.

Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One. Ed. Ben Rafoth. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2000. 24-34. Print.
More than one work from the same anthology

Note on Cross-referencing Several Items from One Anthology: If you cite more than one essay from the same edited collection, MLA indicates you may cross-reference within your works cited list in order to avoid writing out the publishing information for each separate essay. You should consider this option if you have several references from a single text. To do so, include a separate entry for the entire collection listed by the editor's name.

Rose, Shirley K., and Irwin Weiser, eds. The Writing Program Administrator as Researcher. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 1999. Print.

L'Eplattenier, Barbara. "Finding Ourselves in the Past: An Argument for Historical Work on WPAs." Rose and Weiser 131-40. Print.

Peeples, Tim. "'Seeing' the WPA With/Through Postmodern Mapping." Rose and Weiser 153-67. Print.

Poem or Short Story in a Collection

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of poem.short story." Title of anthology. Editor. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Pages. Medium of Publication.

If the specific literary work is part of the an author's own collection (all of the works have the same author), then there will be no editor to reference

Burns, Robert. "Red, Red Rose." 100 Best-Loved Poems. Ed. Philip Smith. New York: Dover, 1995. 26. Print.

Whitman, Walt. "I Sing the Body Electric." Selected Poems. New York: Dover, 1991. 12-19. Print.

Translated Book Cite as you would any other book. Add "Trans."—the abbreviation for translated by—and follow with the name(s) of the translator(s). Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Trans. Richard Howard. New York: Vintage-Random House, 1988. Print.
Article in a Reference Book For entries in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works, cite the piece as you would any other work in a collection but do not include the publisher information. Also, if the reference book is organized alphabetically, as most are, do not list the volume or the page number of the article or item. "Ideology." The American Heritage Dictionary. 3rd ed. 1997. Print.