Research & Subject Guides: WST398 Gender, Race, Nation and Borders: Immigration through a feminist lens: Find Articles

Off-Campus Access

Use your NetID and password to access library resources when off-campus.

Databases for News Articles

Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.

For more information, please visit our website.

Submit your requests here.

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Need help figuring out what these types of articles are? Get help here.

Many databases provide filters to limit your results to only scholarly articles. These filters may be refered to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles. Instructors at the university are often expecting you to use these types of resources for your assignments.

Databases for Scholarly Material

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Cambridge Histories Online
Date range varies. Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
1992-present. Fulltext. Books, articles, newsletters, and reports. 2000 sources from 250 organizations: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and alternative presses from over 190 countries.
Empire Online
Fulltext. Primary source material linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Includes exploration journals & logs, letters, diaries, government papers, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, memoirs, maps, etc.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GenderWatch
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Opposing Viewpoints
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext. Presents information on complex contemporary topics in a pro- and con- format.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.

Google Scholar

A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.

For maximum benefit when off-campus:

Click on Scholar Preferences
Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.

WST398 Gender, Race, Nation and Borders: Immigration through a feminist lens: Find Articles

Off-Campus Access

Databases for News Articles

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Databases for Scholarly Material

Google Scholar

Library

Resources

Follow Us