Research & Subject Guides: HEA 501: Find Articles

Off-Campus Access

Use your NetID and password to access library resources when off-campus.

Databases for News Articles

Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.

Don't Have It?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.

For more information, please visit our website.

Submit your requests here.

Research Starter

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Need help figuring out what these types of articles are? See the Research Tutorials tab.

Many databases provide filters to limit your results to only scholarly articles. These filters may be refered to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles. Instructors at the university are often expecting you to use these types of resources for your assignments.

Databases for Scholarly Material

This is a select list of databases that provide scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.

Browse our full selection of over 600 databases by title or subject: Databases A - Z

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Business Source Complete
Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
1992-present. Fulltext. Books, articles, newsletters, and reports. 2000 sources from 250 organizations: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and alternative presses from over 190 countries.
Digital National Security Archive
1942-present. Fulltext. Over 63,000 of the most important declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.
Education Source
Full text & Abstracts. 1929-present. The database is a compilation of previous education databases, specifically Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983), Education Abstracts, Full Text, and Research Complete. Full text supplied for more than 1700 journals, 200 extra full-text journals and 550+ books. Also included are conference papers, article citations, and links to some ERIC documents. Subjects covered include adult and continuing education, distance learning, government funding, multicultural/ethnic education, social issues, student counseling, vocational education and more. Levels covered range from early childhood to higher education.
Environment Complete
Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GenderWatch
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Music Index
1975-present. Includes data from over 690 music periodicals. Nearly all aspects of classical and popular areas of music: musicological topics, book & record reviews, premieres and obituaries.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

PsycINFO
1887 - present. Citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 journals, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related disciplines.
ScienceDirect
1995 - present. Fulltext access for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations and abstracts prior to 1995 and for journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.

SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

Librarian

Janet Clarke

Email Me

Contact:

Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library

W-1518

Stony Brook, NY 11794-3300

tel. 631-632-1217

fax. 631-632-7116

email. janet.clarke@stonybrook.edu

HEA 501: Find Articles