Research & Subject Guides: History of Food: FIND BOOKS

Search the Catalog

Catalog Quick Search

Find books, journals, DVDs, collections and more in our catalogs. | HELP

For journal or newspaper titles, use the Journal Catalog.
Catalog Home | Advanced Search

Subject Headings

When you find a book that looks good, scroll down to the bottom of the screen, and you’ll see the Library of Congress subject headings. You can click on these links to find more books on that subject. You can also use these subject headings when searching databases, WorldCat, and many digital collections on the internet.

Learn some basic Library of Congress Subject Headings for your topic.

Look for Bibliographies & Indexes in Subject Headings. These can be useful resources.

Library of Congress subject headings often used for primary sources:

Sources
Correspondence
Diaries
Interviews
Personal narratives
Biography (includes memoirs)

Spotlight Books

The True History of Chocolate by Sophie D. Coe; Michael D. Coe
Call Number: Main Library Stacks TP640 .C64 2000
ISBN: 9780500282298
Publication Date: 2000
Theobromo caco . . . chocolate . . . "the food of the gods." Delicious indulgence or cause of migraines? Aphrodisiac or medicinal tonic? Religious symbol or Mesoamerican currency? This delightful tale of one of the world's favorite foods draws upon botany, archaeology, socio-economics, and culinary history to present a complete and accurate history of chocolate. The story begins some three thousand years ago in the jungles of lowland Mexico and Central America with the tree Theobroma cacao and the complex processes necessary to transform its bitter seeds into what is now known as chocolate. This was centuries before chocolate was consumed in generally unsweetened liquid form and used as currency by the sophisticated Maya, and the Aztecs after them. The Spanish conquest of Central America introduced chocolate to Europe, where it became first the stimulating drink of kings and aristocrats and then was popularized in coffeehouses. Industrialization in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries made chocolate a food for the masses--until its revival in our own time as a luxury item.
Fasting Girls: The History of Anorexia Nervosa by Joan Jacobs Brumberg
Call Number: Main Library Stacks RC552.A5 B785
ISBN: 9780375724480
Publication Date: 2000
Winner of four major awards, Fasting Girls presents a history of women's food-refusal dating back as far as the sixteenth century. Here is a tableau of female self-denial: medieval martyrs who used starvation to demonstrate religious devotion, "wonders of science" whose families capitalized on their ability to survive on flower petals and air, silent screen stars whose strict "slimming" regimens inspired a generation. Here, too, is a fascinating look at how the cultural ramifications of the Industrial Revolution produced a disorder that continues to render privileged young women helpless. Incisive, compassionate, illuminating, Fasting Girls offers real understanding to victims and their families, clinicians, and all women who are interested in the origins and future of this complex, modern and characteristically female disease.
Alcohol: A Social and Cultural History by Mack Holt (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks HV5023 .A53 2006
ISBN: 9781845201654
Publication Date: 2006
This book examines our relationship with alcohol and examines how drink has evolved in its functions and uses from the late Middle Ages to the present day in the West. This book discusses a range of issues, including domestic versus recreational use, the history of alcoholism, and the relationship between alcohol and violence, religion, sexuality, and medicine. It looks at how certain forms of alcohol speak about class, gender, and place. Drawing on examples from Europe, North America, and Australia, this book provides a comprehensive history of the role of alcohol over the past.

Interlibrary Loan

Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook, we can get it from another library our Interlibrary Loan service.

Request an item or set up an account.

Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.

WorldCat Search

WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and some from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.

If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan to learn more.

Google Books

Google Books is extremely useful, because it searches the complete text of a book. It can help you find books that may not come up in the library catalog. When you find a book that looks good, then do a "Title starts with" search in SEARCH to see if the Library has it.

As of 2019, Google Books contained over 40 million scanned books. Many from before 1925 are available full-text.

History of Food: FIND BOOKS

Search the Catalog

Subject Headings

Spotlight Books

Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat Search

Google Books

Library

Resources

Follow Us