Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

Physical Therapy: eBooks/Books

Guide to the Literature of Physical Therapy

Health Sciences Library Catalog Search

Quick Search the Catalog for books, journal titles and other materials.

HSL Catalog Home | Advanced Search

Selected Textbooks

ACSM’s Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription

WE 103 A514ga 2010

This book covers both theoretical and practical physiological concepts, with related examples of

exercise testing, training, and programming.

 

Anatomy and Physiology for the Manual Therapies

QT 104 K946a 2010

A strong understanding of human anatomy and physiology is an important foundation for

students of the manual therapies, this book has a special focus on the musculoskeletal and

nervous systems.

 

Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy: A Clinical Manual

WG 39 W324ca 2010

This manual provides information on cardiovascular and pulmonary conditions for physical

therapists practicing in all clinical settings and for students who are looking for a practical

clinical emphasis.

 

Clinical Case Studies in Physiotherapy: A Guide for Students and Graduates

WB 460 C6407 2009

A pocketbook for physical therapy students, graduates, and rotational physical therapists

looking for a refresher in a certain specialty.

 

Contexts of Physiotherapy Practice

WB 460 C761 2009

This book covers the current changes in health care delivery which affect physiotherapists as

primary care providers, giving them opportunities to undertake new directions within their roles

and practice.

 

Diagnostic Imaging for Physical Therapists

WE 141 S971d 2009

Center for Healthcare Informatics Education Guide 8 to the Literature of Physical Therapy 2010

Gives the knowledge to understand the basic principles of musculoskeletal imaging and how to

interpret radiographic images in your physical therapy practice.

 

Functional Testing in Human Performance

QT 255 R363f 2009

This text assists clinicians in understanding and incorporating functional testing to identify their

Patients’ or clients’ limitations and enhance their performance rehabilitation, and daily

functioning.

 

Manual Physical Therapy of the Spine

WE 725 O52m 2009

This textbook has integrated an impairment-based manual physical therapy approach with use

of research evidence to support management of spinal and temporomandibular joint conditions.

 

Pediatrics for the Physical Therapist Assistant

WB 460 082p 2009

This text gives complete, focused information on treating and managing common pediatric

conditions.

 

Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist

QV 4 P5365 2009

A complete but focused presentation of pharmacology as it affects patients in rehabilitation and

will be useful to many professionals in this field.

 

Physical Agents in Rehabilitation: From Research to Practice

WB 460 P5772 2009

Excellent text for clinicians and students looking for quick information to assist in making clinical

decisions based on grounded rationale and evidence.

 

Rehabilitation Techniques in Sports Medicine

QT 261 R3449 2011

This text addresses all aspects of rehabilitation, including protocols for rehabilitating the wide

variety of injuries athletes are prone to receive.

 

Therapeutic Modalities for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training

QT 260 T398 2009

This text provides information on the scientific basis and physiologic effects of a wide range of

therapeutic modalities, electromagnetic modalities, and mechanical energy modalities.

 

Wellness and Physical Therapy

WB 460 F163w 2011

The text consists of foundational knowledge, theoretical models, empirical research, and

application of material to physical therapy practice.

Writing

AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors

WZ 345 A511 2007

Contains valuable information for those interested in the publication process style and

terminology for any health writing.

 

Concise Rules of APA Style

RESV WZ 39 C744 2010

A guide for producing concise and bias-free writing, including displaying research results,

reference examples, and crediting sources.

 

How to Write a Paper

WZ 345 H68 2008

This bestselling guide provides clear instructions on getting published in biomedical journals. It

includes all aspects of writing each section of a structured paper incorporating the latest

information on open access, electronic publication, and submission.

 

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

WZ 345 D274h 2006

Covers the entire publications process from preparing the manuscript, citing references,

submitting the paper, peer review, and the publishing process.

 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

RESV WZ 345 P976 2010

The sixth edition of this book assists with content, preparation, and organizational structure of

papers and manuscripts. Check with your instructor to find if there is a preference for a particular

style format before submitting your papers.

 

Understanding Clinical Papers

WZ 345 B786u 2006

The focus is on examples of good practice for benchmarks to understand the clinical research

literature and also to demonstrate proper structure for aspiring authors.

 

Writing a Biomedical Research Paper: A Guide to Structure and Style

WZ 345 B927w 2009

Intended as a practical guide to writing good, publishable biomedical manuscripts, it will also

teach how to recognize and even evaluate quality in writing to become more informed consumers

of the literature.

 

Writing Patient/Client Notes: Ensuring Accuracy in Documentation

WB 18.2 K43wa 2009

An introduction to note writing in a medical record helpful for documenting tests and measures

with short and long term goals for patient management.

Writing

AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors

WZ 345 A511 2007

Contains valuable information for those interested in the publication process style and

terminology for any health writing.

 

Concise Rules of APA Style

RESV WZ 39 C744 2010

A guide for producing concise and bias-free writing, including displaying research results,

reference examples, and crediting sources.

 

How to Write a Paper

WZ 345 H68 2008

This bestselling guide provides clear instructions on getting published in biomedical journals. It

includes all aspects of writing each section of a structured paper incorporating the latest

information on open access, electronic publication, and submission.

 

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

WZ 345 D274h 2006

Covers the entire publications process from preparing the manuscript, citing references,

submitting the paper, peer review, and the publishing process.

 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

RESV WZ 345 P976 2010

The sixth edition of this book assists with content, preparation, and organizational structure of

papers and manuscripts. Check with your instructor to find if there is a preference for a particular

style format before submitting your papers.

 

Understanding Clinical Papers

WZ 345 B786u 2006

The focus is on examples of good practice for benchmarks to understand the clinical research

literature and also to demonstrate proper structure for aspiring authors.

 

Writing a Biomedical Research Paper: A Guide to Structure and Style

WZ 345 B927w 2009

Intended as a practical guide to writing good, publishable biomedical manuscripts, it will also

teach how to recognize and even evaluate quality in writing to become more informed consumers

of the literature.

 

Writing Patient/Client Notes: Ensuring Accuracy in Documentation

WB 18.2 K43wa 2009

An introduction to note writing in a medical record helpful for documenting tests and measures

with short and long term goals for patient management.