Research & Subject Guides: Nursing: OER for Nursing Faculty

These are some suggested resources for nursing faculty looking to incorporate Open Educational Resources (OERs) into their curriculum. For a full list of OER resources visit the Library’s OER guide.

Open Textbooks

NCBI Bookshelf
From National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine
Directory of Open Access Books
Open SUNY Textbooks
Project Gutenberg
BC Open Textbooks
Open Textbook Library
From University of Minnesota
OpenStax CNX

Open Courseware

Open NYS/Lumen Learning
From SUNY/CUNY
JHSPH Open Courseware
From Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health

OER Portals

MERLOT Nursing Collection
From California State University System
Open Education Consortium
OERs for Nursing--GWU
From George Washington University School of Nursing
Open Michigan Nursing Resources
From University of Michigan
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool for open educational resources (OER). OASIS currently searches open content from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records. Use OASIS to discover quality, free open textbooks, courseware and more. OASIS was developed by the SUNY Geneseo Milne Library, in consultation with SUNY OER Services.

Open Access Databases

PubMed Central
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
BioMedCentral Open Access
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Subjects covered include ecology, microbiology, genetics, biochemistry and medicine.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Date coverage varies. Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and languages. There are more than 16,000 journals and 6.5 million article records in the directory.