Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

Chinese Culinary History: Primary Sources

Resources for the study of Chinese culinary history, featuring the Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, a special collection at Stony Brook University.

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources refer to documents or other items that provide first-hand, eyewitness accounts of events.

A newspaper article written at the time an event took place (Pearl Harbor, for example) is a primary source.  A memoir, or recollections by someone who was involved in an event, such as an interview with a woman who took part in the Civil Rights Movement, is also a primary source.

Some examples of primary source materials are:

  • Printed texts, including books, newspapers, diaries, pamphlets, magazines, and journals
  • Manuscripts
  • Maps
  • Paintings
  • Artifacts
  • Audio and video recordings
  • Oral histories
  • Photographs
  • Dissertations
  • Government documents

Primary sources are different from secondary sources, which are written later and usually comment on or analyze historic events or original documents.

Primary Source Materials

Chinese Culinary History Collections

Bibliographies

Additional Resources
Ling Long Women’s Magazine

Ling Long women's magazine, published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937, was popular during a time of dramatic material, social, and political change in China. Today, the magazine offers researchers a unique glimpse into women's lives in Republican-era (1911-49) Shanghai. This site features Columbia University's collection of Ling Long magazine, one of the most complete holdings outside China.” note: description from website.

East Asian Collection at the University of Wisconsin
The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage.

Botanical and Cultural Images of Eastern Asia, 1907-1927
See daily life: food, baskets, people, work, and photograph collections taken by the explorers.

 

Search Terms and Strategies

To find primary sources at Stony Brook, use the Libraries' Search and Discover Catalog

You can include various words in your search that will help you locate primary source material.  A general word to include is "sources".

Also try these Library of Congress subject headings that are often used for primary sources:

  • Correspondence
  • Diaries
  • Interviews
  • Personal narratives