Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

Chinese Culinary History: More Books

Resources for the study of Chinese culinary history, featuring the Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, a special collection at Stony Brook University.

Additional Books

If the library does not own a book that you need, Stony Brook University students, faculty, and staff  may be able to request it through Interlibrary Loan. Click here to request an item or set up an account. You be notified if a book can be borrowed.

Search databases and websites:
WorldCat
Amazon.com
Google books

Selective bibliography:

Food: The Chinese art of food and drink. (1970). (Traditional Chinese Culture in Taiwan)

Origins of Chinese food culture. (2003). Singapore: Asiapac Books.
Ban, Gu, 32-92 CE, translated and annotated by Nancy Lee Swann. (1950). Food and money in ancient China; the earliest economic history of China to A.D. 25, Han Shu 24. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

Barer-Stein, T. (1999). You eat what you are: people, culture and food traditions. Ontario, Canada: Firefly Books.
Benn, C. D. (2004). China's golden age: everyday life in the Tang dynasty. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Benn, C. D. (2002). Daily life in traditional China: The Tang dynasty. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.

Bray, T. L. (2003). The archaeology and politics of food and feasting in early states and empires. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum.
Cai, Z. (2007). Bao can chi du =: Abalone, sea cucumber, shark's fin, fish maw. Xianggang: Hai bin tu shu gong si.
Cai, Z. (2007). Hai wei, gan huo =: Dried seafood & Chinese foodstuff. Xianggang: Hai bin tu shu gong si.

Cai, J. (2004). Xianggang huai jiu cai =: Traditional dishes of Hong Kong. Xianggang: Hai bin tu shu gong si.
Chan, C. H. (2009). Dim sum: traditional favourites and innovative creations. Singapore: Marshall Cavendish Cuisine.
Chen, Z. (2005). Food and Chinese culture: essays on popular cuisine. San Francisco: Long River Press.
Cheng, A. (2003). Wu rou ling ren shou. Xianggang: Wan li ji gou, wan li shu dian.
Cheung, S. C. H., & Tan, C. B. (2007). Food and foodways in Asia: resource, tradition and cooking. London: Routledge.
Davidson, A., & Jaine, T. (2006). The Oxford companion to food. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Davis, D. (2000). The consumer revolution in urban China. Berkeley: University of California Press.
Di, X. (2007). A food-lover's journey around China. Beijing: Foreign Languages Press.Drake, F. S. (1970). Tea leaves: being a collection of letters and documents relating to the shipment of tea to the American colonies in the year 1773, by the East India Tea Company. Detroit: Singing Tree Press.

Du, B. C. M., Tan, C. B., & Mintz, S. W. (2008). The world of soy. Urbana: University of Illinois Press.
Elias, J., & Ketcham, K. (1998). Chinese medicine for maximum immunity: understanding the five elemental types for health and well-being. New York: Three Rivers Press.
Fu, C. (2004). Origins of Chinese food culture. Singapore: Asiapac.
Gao, D., & Bernie, B. (1997). Chinese medicine. New York, NY: Thunder's Mouth Press.
Gao, L., Lu, Y., Husihui, ., Lu, H., Huang, Z., Yao, C., & Yu, X. (2000). Zun sheng ba jian, Cha jing, Yin shan zheng yao, Shi wu ben cao jing yi. (SuperStar Digital Library.) Beijing: Ke xue ji shu wen xian chu ban she.
Go, X., & Liu, G. (2008). Cha yu wen hua = Chinese tea culture. Taibei Shi: Tang ren gong yi.
Grew, R. (1999). Food in global history. Boulder, Colo: Westview Press.
Gu, C. (1999). Lao shang hai yin shi. Shanghai: Shanghai ke xue ji shu chu ban she.
Guo, Y. (2002). Jiu huang jian yi shu: [4 juan]. Shanghai: Shanghai gu ji chu ban she.

Guo, Z. (2000). Ginseng and aspirin: health care alternatives for aging Chinese in New York. Ithaca, N.Y: Cornell University Press.

Hammond, S., & Hammond, S. (2007). Bamboo: A journey with Chinese food. Chatswood, N.S.W: New Holland.
Han, H., Miller, G., & Deville, N. (2003). Ancient herbs, modern medicine: improving your health by combining Chinese herbal medicine and Western medicine. New York: Bantam Books.
Hou, J., & Zeng, S. (2005). Yan wo: Yun fu yu qi zhong qing zheng que shi fa = Bird's nest : recipes for pregnant woman and different age groups. Xianggang: Lou shang yan wo zhuang you xian gong si.
Hsiung, D. T. (1997). Taste of China: over 75 authentic Chinese recipes with over 300 photographs. London: Lorenz.
Hu, S. (1957). An enumeration of the food plants of China. Cambridge, Mass: Flora of China Project, Arnold Arboretum, Harvard University.
Hu, S. (2005). Food plants of China. Hong Kong: Chinese University Press.
Hu-ssu-hui, ., Buell, P. D., Anderson, E. N., & Perry, C. (2000). A soup for the Qan: Chinese dietary medicine of the Mongol era as seen in Hu Szu-Hui's Yin-shan cheng-yao: introduction, translation, commentary, and Chinese text. London: Kegan Paul International.
Hua, . ., Xu, . ., & Xu, . . (2002). Yu chi chu yi. Shen yang: Liao ning ke xue ji zhu chu ban she.
Husihui. (1995). Yin shan zheng yao: San juan. Tainan Xian Liuying Xiang: Zhuang yan wen hua shi ye you xian gong si.
Kile, K. F., & Ornelas, K. C. (2000). The Cambridge world history of food. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.
Lang, W., & Leung, H. M.-T. (2003). Tao Tao shi jing: Wei cun te se cai. Hong Kong: Crown Publishing (H.K.) Ltd.
Liao, Y. (2006). Food and festivals of China. Philadelphia: Mason Crest Publishers.
Lin, K., & Xu, R. (1998). Neng chi shi fu / Lin Kebu zhu ; Xu Ruqi zhu bian. Guilin Shi: Li jiang chu ban she.
Lu, J., & Shi, D. (1999). Pin cha shuo cha: Sheng huo de yi shu, ren sheng de xiang shou = Taste tea and talk about tea: history and culture of Chinese tea. Hangzhou Shi: Zhejiang ren min mei shu chu ban she.
Pan, C. (2004). Yixing pottery: purple clay and the world of Chinese tea culture. San Francisco: Long River Press.
Read, B. E., Liu, J., Read, B. E., & Read, B. E. (1977). Famine foods listed in the Chiu huang pen tsao: Giving their identity, nutritional values and notes on their preparations ; The botany of Mahuang ; Common food fishes of Shanghai. Taipei: Southern Materials Center.
Simoons, F. J. (1991). Food in China: a cultural and historical inquiry. Boca Raton: CRC Press.
Song, W., Wang, J., Zhou, S., Lu, X., & Wang, Y. (2006). Beijing local delicacies. Beijing: Zhongguo hua bao chu ban she.
Stavis, B. (1974). China's green revolution. Ithaca, N.Y: China-Japan Program, Cornell University.
Swislocki, M. (2009). Culinary nostalgia: regional food culture and the urban experience in Shanghai. Stanford, Calif: Stanford University Press.
Wang, J., Zhang, R., Li, M., & Zhu, S. (2007). Jiu huang ben cao jiao shi yu yan jiu. Beijing: Zhong yi gu ji chu ban she.
Wang, S. (1965). Xue pu za shu. Taibei: Yi wen yin shu guan yin xing.
Wu, J.-N. (2005). An illustrated Chinese materia medica. New York, N.Y: Oxford University Press.
Yang, Y. (2002). Shan fu jing shou lu: [1 juan]. Shanghai: Shanghai gu ji chu ban she.
Yao, K. (1995). Jiu huang ye pu. Shanghai: Shanghai gu ji chu ban she.
Zaigui, L., & Hongzhuo, T. (2009). Traditional Chinese foods: production and research progress. New York: Nova Science Publishers.
 
Zanning, ., Chen, R., & Zhou, L. (1991). Sun pu. Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju.
Zee, S.-Y., & Hui, L. H. (1990). Hong Kong food plants. Hong Kong: Urban Council.
 
Zhao, N. (1996). Shang yi ben cao. Beijing: Zhong yi gu ji chu ban she.
Zhou, K., & Chen, Z. (2006). Food and Chinese culture (essays) =: Zhongguo de chi. New York: Better Link Press.
 
Zhou, L., & Zhou, S. (1966). Ru cao bian: [4 juan]. Taibei: I wen.
Zhu, S. (1959). Jiu huang ben cao: [shang xia juan]. Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju.

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray's picture
Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact:
Director, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Associate Librarian
E-2320, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
t: 631.632.7119
f: 631.632.1829
e: kristen.nyitray@stonybrook.edu
Website

ILL-Interlibrary Loan Services

The Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Department supports the research and teaching needs of the Stony Brook University academic community by expanding the range of materials available for scholarship beyond the physical and electronic collections of the Stony Brook University Libraries. 
Interlibrary loan borrowing provides article delivery and short term loans of other materials from a worldwide network of libraries.

Document delivery provides book chapters and articles from the collections of SBU Libraries. There is no charge to users for either interlibrary loan or document delivery.