* Note: The program is fully booked and registration is currently closed.
People who booked early will receive a confirmation email.
Food and China's Silk Road: Influences to and from the West
by Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 1 PM
Charles B. Wang Center Theatre
In 2002, Special Collections and University Archives at Stony Brook University was the proud recipient of the Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, the largest cookbook collection of its kind. The collection includes: over 4,000 Chinese cookbooks, books on food Chinese food culture; medicine; and history; haute cuisine magazines; archival materials; and audio visual materials. These materials provide a valuable record of the Chinese Diaspora that has carried its rich cuisine to every corner of the globe. Dr. Newman’s extensive annotated bibliography is now available online, thereby making it accessible worldwide.
LaChoy Chinese Recipes,
The following Library of Congress subject headings were utilized to produce this LibGuide.
DR. JACQUELINE M. NEWMAN
CHINESE COOKBOOK COLLECTION
A Special Collection at Stony Brook University
Videos of Lectures & Special Events
Cookbooks: A Cultural Banquet (2005)
The Chinese Philosophy of Feasting (2006)
Chinese Food Can Be Good for Your Health (2007)
A Wok Through Chinese Culinary History (2008)
"Moon Cakes and Their Wooden Molds"
A collection of Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman.
View the collection here.
According to Dr. Newman, "The Chinese adore and eat moon cake delicacies.
They consume them as a slice or a small wedge of one moon cake, and they enjoy them shared with family and friends during the important holiday they know as the Mid-Autumn Festival; Zhongquijie in Chinese. This event is one of their most important celebrations, second only to their New Year holiday that is also known as Spring Festival. Both of these festivals are Lunar calendar holidays."
Cookbooks are a treasured source of cultural information, history, social relationships, and recipes.
Acclaimed and award-winning food historian, scholar, and registered dietitian Dr. Jacqueline Newman will discuss the very first Chinese sojourners to the United States and share fascinating tales of their early years on American soil. Dr. Newman will also highlight the first Chinese cookbooks published in the U.S., expound upon what and why Americans love Chinese cuisine, and advise as to where to find it locally.
A food tasting will follow her presentation, featuring recipes from the Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, part of Stony Brook University Libraries' Special Collections. Comprised of more than 4,000 rare and scarce English-language cookbooks and unique research materials, it is the world's largest collection of its type. Copies of the recipes will be available to guests.
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 at 12:45 p.m. "Chinese Food and Herbs: Available, Fresh, Healthy, Natural, and Sustainable"
A lecture by Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman, with a food tasting to follow. This talk will explore the terms Available, Fresh, Healthy, Natural, and Sustainable and compare them to the health benefits of Chinese food, Chinese dishes, and Chinese herbs.
When you sit down for a meal at a chain restaurant, how can you tell if your food is healthy, natural, fresh, or sustainable? When chains make these claims about their products, are they really providing us with better options, or are they simply trying to capitalize on abstract concepts of “freshness” and “health,” while serving meals that are still highly processed? Acclaimed food scholar and researcher Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman argues that fast-food definitions of “fresh” and “healthy” are disingenuous and misleading. In this talk, Newman will explore uses of these terms, and will contrast Western fast food to the fascinating, nourishing, and time-tested traditional cuisine of China. Timely issues about health, economics, and the food industry will be addressed, and she will suggest how we can improve our diet by relying on concepts – and recipes! – from Chinese culture.
Dr. Newman founded and is editor of the award-winning magazine Flavor and Fortune. It is the first and the only American English-language quarterly about Chinese food and Chinese dietary culture. Her devotion to research and promotion of this dietary culture is well-known world-wide and is the pursuit of a lifetime of efforts.
The Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, more than 4,000 books and complementary research materials, is a special collection at Stony Brook University Libraries. Co-sponsored by Special Collections of the University Libraries, the Charles B. Wang Center, and The Confucius Institute at Stony Brook University.
Free and open to all.
On Wednesday, April 25, 2012, Dr. Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman presented "CHINESE CUISINE: HISTORY, ART, AESTHETICS & CULINARY APPEAL." The event was sponsored by the Wang Center's Asian and Asian American Programs, University Libraries and the Confucius Institute.
Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman founded, and for nineteen years, has edited the award-winning magazine Flavor and Fortune. It is the first and the only American English-language quarterly about Chinese food and Chinese dietary culture. Dr. Newman's devotion to research and promotion of this dietary culture is well-known world-wide and is the pursuit of a lifetime of efforts. Her collection of over 3,000 books and complementary research materials is a special collection at Stony Brook University Libraries. View the event flyer here.
"Cooking from China’s Fujian Province" special lecture featuring food historian and scholar Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman. Reception follows with Fujianese food tasting.
Fujian, a province in southeastern China, boasts a distinct culinary tradition that enjoys a thousand year old recorded history but is barely known in the Western world. Dr. Newman's latest book includes fascinating cultural and historical notes and features a collection of 200 easy to follow, authentic recipes that provide the perfect introduction to this unique cuisine. “Through her insightful writing and well-researched recipes, Ms. Newman is casting much-deserved light on the wonderful Fujian cooking and culture. Her scholarly approach and keen eye for detail make this book a joy to read and a real keeper for any library and kitchen.” -- Martin Yan, cookbook author and chef of TV cookery programs
Watch this Event
SPECIAL EXHIBITION and RECEPTION
"A Wok Through Chinese Culinary History: View Selections from the World's Largest English-Language Chinese Cookbook Collection"
Savor and digest the history of Chinese cuisine at a dramatic new exhibition of the Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection. Stony Brook University's collection includes more than 3,000 cookbooks - from the oldest to the smallest to the longest, and everything in between - as well as many other fascinating culinary items. Don't miss this one-of-a-kind visual banquet for everyone interested in one of the world's greatest civilizations.
Tuesday, May 6, 2008 at 5 p.m.
FREE and Open to the Public
To R.S.V.P., please call (631) 632-6320
Exhibit runs Monday, April 28 - Friday, May 30
Charles B. Wang Center, Main Lobby
Stony Brook University
Watch this Event
WEDNESDAY, May 2 at 12:45 p.m. - Wang Center, Lecture Hall 1
Chinese Food Can Be Good for Your Health!
Lecture featuring Dr. Jacqueline Newman
Chinese food is a favorite cuisine; but is it healthy? Recent reports have questioned the nutritional content of some appetizers and entrees served at Chinese restaurants. However, when prepared in an authentic way, this cuisine is one of the world’s most nutritious; it is ideal for your health and well being. Food historian, scholar, and registered dietitian Jacqueline M. Newman will discuss the use of herbs and other fresh ingredients in the Chinese diet. She will explain how to order and prepare Chinese food that is healthful and why the Chinese see no differences between food and medicine. The food tasting that follows her talk will illustrate these concepts and feature recipes from the Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, a part of the University Libraries' Special Collections at Stony Brook. Free to all.
Sponsors: University Libraries and Charles B. Wang Asian American Center
Watch this Event
The Chinese Philosophy of Feasting
Date: Wednesday, April 5 at 12:40 p.m.
Location: Charles B. Wang Center, Lecture Hall 1
Program: Customs and beliefs of what to eat and how to eat are as vital to the Chinese as are notions of food, health, and satiation. Chinese food historian Jacqueline M. Newman will tease out the tastes, cultural significance, social meaning, and types of food prepared for lavish banquets, festivals, and even simple eating encounters. Tantalizing selections from the recipes in the University Libraries' Chinese Cookbook Collection, donated by Dr. Newman, will be served during a reception following the lecture. Free to all.
Sponsors: Charles B. Wang Center and the University Libraries
Watch this Event
"Cookbooks: A Cultural Banquet."
Date: Tuesday, April 19 at 12:30 p.m.
Location: Charles B. Wang Center, Lecture Hall 1
Program: "Cookbooks: A Cultural Banquet." Cookbooks are a treasure trove of cultural information, history and social relationships, as well as delicious and useful recipes. Chinese cuisine scholar Jacqueline Newman will expound on the socio-cultural wealth of Chinese cookbooks, while Bonnie Slotnik, owner of a Greenwich Village shop specializing in out-of-print cookbooks, will give a broad overview of American baking as seen through these books. Katheryn Twiss of Stony Brook University’s Department of Anthropology will place the phenomenon of cookbooks in socio-historical context. You will also sample creations from the recipes of the Jackie Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection. Free to all.
Sponsors: Charles B. Wang Center and the Department of Special Collections, University Libraries.
LibGuide by Lisa Patterson, Curriculum Librarian at St. Joseph's College (in fulfillment of an archival internship for the Palmer School of Library and Information Science, C.W. Post campus of Long Island University) and Kristen J. Nyitray, Head of Special Collections and University Archives/University Archivist.
Special Collections and University Archives at Stony Brook University select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff. For more information about the collections, visit the department's website.