Skip to main content
Stony Brook University



George Washington and the Culper Spy Ring: More Books

Research Materials about George Washington, The Culper Spy Ring, and the American Revolutionary War

Addtional Books about the Culper Spy Ring

If the library does not own a book that you need, Stony Brook University students, faculty, and staff  may be able to request it through Interlibrary Loan. You be notified as to whether the book can be borrowed.

Search databases and websites:
WorldCat
Amazon.com
Google books

Selective bibliography:

Capture and death of Major André. (1840). Greenburgh, N.Y.?: Greenburgh Register Print.

United States. (1997). Intelligence in the War of Independence. Washington, DC: Public Affairs, Central Intelligence Agency.

American Spy. (1786). Letters written in London by an American spy: From the year 1764 to the year 1785. London: Printed for the editor, and sold by S. Crowder and J. Bew.

Memoir of Benjamin Tallmadge - 1858

Memoir of Benjamin Tallmadge – 1915

Secret history of the American Revolution : an account of the conspiracies of Benedict Arnold and numerous others, drawn from the Secret Service papers of the British headquarters in North America, now for the first time examined and made public (1941)

A historical collection from official records, files, &c., of the part sustained by Connecticut, during the war of the revolution : with an appendix, containing important letters, depositions, &c., written during the war (1842)

Adams, R. G. (1926). The headquarters papers of the British army in North America during the war of the American revolution: A brief description of Sir Henry Clinton's papers in the William L. Clements Library. Ann Arbor: William L. Clements Library.

Baber, J. (1995). The world of Major John André: An accomplished man and a gallant officer, 1750-1780. Fort Washington, PA: Printed by the Copy Factory.

Benson, E. (1972). Vindication of the captors of Major André. Boston: Gregg Press.

Bakeless, J., & Washington Association of New Jersey. (1959). General Washington's spy system: An address by John Bakeless. A report by Francis S. Ronalds. A report by the Board of Trustees of the Washington Association of New Jersey. At Washington's Headquarters in Morristown, N.J., February 23, 1959. Morristown, N.J.

Bakeless, J. (1960). Turncoats, traitors, and heroes. Philadelphia: Lippincott.

Castrovilla, S., Crosby, J., & Jackson, S. (2009). Upon secrecy. Honesdale, Pa: Calkins Creek.

Clinton, H. (1954). The American rebellion: Sir Henry Clinton's narrative of his campaigns, 1775-1782, with an appendix of original documents. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Decker, P. (1969). Ten days of infamy: An illustrated memoir of the Arnold-André conspiracy. New York: Arno Press.

Deming, L. (1829). Major Andre. Boston: Sold wholesale and retail, by L. Deming, corner of Merchant's Row & Market Square, Boston.

Duncan, L., & Mawicke, T. (1969). Major André: Brave enemy. New York: Putnam.

Ford, C. (1965). A peculiar service. Boston: Little, Brown and Co.

Hagman, H. L. (1992). Nathan Hale and John André: Reluctant heroes of the American Revolution. Interlaken, N.Y: Empire State Books.

Hall, C. S. (1943). Benjamin Tallmadge, revolutionary soldier and American businessman. New York: Columbia University Press.

Hamilton, A., & Laurens, J. (1916). The fate of Major André: A letter from Alexander Hamilton to John Laurens. New York: Printed for C.F. Heartman.

Kilmeade, Brian & Yeager, Don. (2013). George Washington's Secret Six: The Spy Ring that Saved the American Revolution. Sentinel.

Kornhauser, E. M. (January 01, 1991). Colonel Benjamin Tallmadge and Son William Tallmadge, 1790. Ralph Earl, the Face of the Young Republic, 172-173.

Mahoney, H. T., & Mahoney, M. L. (1999). Gallantry in action: A biographic dictionary of espionage in the American Revolutionary War. Lanham, MD: University Press of America.

Morpurgo, J. E. (1975). Treason at West Point: The Arnold-André conspiracy. New York: Mason/Charter.

Nagy, J. A. (2010). Invisible ink: Spycraft of the American Revolution. Yardley, Pa: Westholme.

Nathan, A. G. (1970). The gentleman spy. London: Sidgwick & Jackson.

Parnaby, B. (2007). --Soldier, traitor; soldier, spy--: A true story from the American War of Independence. Ullock: Travail Press.

Purcell, M. S. (2003). Spies of the American Revolution. Logan, Iowa: Perfection Learning.

Pennypacker, M. (1930). The two spies: Nathan Hale and Robert Townsend. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co.

Pleasants, H. (1941). Mars' butterfly: A tale of the career of Major John André, spy-extraordinary of the British army in the American revolution. Boston: Christopher Pub. House.

Ranlet, P. (2002). The New York loyalists. Lanham, Md: University Press of America.

Raskin, J., Raskin, E., & Bock, W. S. (1976). Spies and traitors: Tales of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. New York: Lothrop, Lee and Shepard Co.

Rose, P. K., Center for the Study of Intelligence (U.S.), & United States. (1999). The founding fathers of American intelligence. Washington, D.C.: Directorate of Operations, Central Intelligence Agency.

Rosenberg, B. A. (1994). The neutral ground: The André affair and the background of Cooper's The spy. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.

Seymour, G. D. (1924). President Roosevelt on Hale and Andre: A faulty comparison. New Haven, Conn.?: s.n.

Stevens, B. F. (1970). B.F. Stevens's facsimiles of manuscripts in European archives relating to America, 1773-1783: With descriptions, editorial notes, collations, references and translations. Wilmington, Del: Mellifont Press; [distributed by Irish University Press, White Plains, N.Y.

Tholl, C. K. (1980). A chronicle of Major André at Tappan. Tappan, N.Y: André Memorial Committee, Tappantown Historical Society.

Thompson, E. R. (1991). Secret New England: Spies of the American Revolution. Kennebunk, Me: New England Chapter, Association of Former Intelligence Officers.

Walsh, J. E. (2001). The execution of Major Andre. New York: Palgrave.

Zehner, J. R. (1995). Crisis in the lower Hudson Valley. New City, NY: J.R. Zehner.

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact:
Head, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Associate Librarian
E-2320, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
t: 631.632.7119
f: 631.632.1829
e: kristen.nyitray@stonybrook.edu
Website / Blog Page

Interlibrary Loan Services

The Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Department supports the research and teaching needs of the Stony Brook University academic community by expanding the range of materials available for scholarship beyond the physical and electronic collections of the Stony Brook University Libraries. 

Interlibrary loan borrowing provides article delivery and short term loans of other materials from a worldwide network of libraries.  Document delivery provides book chapters and articles from the collections of SBU Libraries. There is no charge to users for either interlibrary loan or document delivery.