Research & Subject Guides: News Sources: Historical Newspapers

Library Databases - Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
1827-1998. Full-text. Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
America's Historical Newspapers
1755-1922. Fulltext. More than 135 historic newspapers from all 50 states. Titles include The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's anti-slavery newspaper; New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America; Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper printed wholly in a Native American language; and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Regional newspapers include The New York Herald, Irish World, and Jewish Daily News.
Gale Primary Sources: Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
1604–1800. Full-text. The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The Burney Collection provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic or journalistic study. Digitized from important holdings in the British Library, the collection contains nearly 1 million pages, more than 700 bound volumes and over 1,200 titles, including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers published in London, the English provinces, Ireland, Scotland, the American colonies, Europe and India.
Gale Primary Sources: The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014
1785-1985. Full text. Digital edition of The Times (London) with searching capability and facsimile images of individual articles or the complete page. Includes parliamentary debates, editorials, birth and death notices, advertisements, illustrations/photos and classified ads. More than 7 million articles. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement, or the Times Literary Supplement.
Latin American Historical Newspapers
1805-1922. Full-text. Over 300 Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Combining Latin American Newspapers Series I & II, the collection features papers in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including key titles such as La Nacion, La Prensa and Vanguardia (Buenos Aires), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro), O Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo), Mercurio (Santiago), La Prensa (Havana), La Patria, Mexican Herald and El Monitor Republicano (Mexico City) , El Peruano and West Coast Leader (Lima) and Venezuelan Herald (Caracas).
New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Washington Post (Historical)
1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Also includes information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Newspapers in Microforms at Stony Brook

Major Historical Sets

Early American Newspapers – Microfilm A565
Early American Newspapers, 1704-1820 – Microprint 4
Underground Newspaper Collection* – Microfilm A178 [1963-1985]

Index to Underground Newspaper Collection: Microforms Library Z6944.U5 B4 [1963-1985]

Alternative Press Collection* – Microfilm A178 [1986 – present]

Alternative press. A guide to the microform collection Z6944.U5 B4 [1986-present]

Other Major Papers

New York Herald [1840-1919] – Microfilm A1
New York Tribune / Daily Tribune / Herald Tribune [1841-1966] Microfilm 123
Christian Science Monitor [1908-1925, 1960-present] Microfilm A26

Major Foreign Newspapers

The Times (London, England) [1788-present] – Microfilm A6
Le Monde (Paris, France) [1944-present] – Microfilm A4
Le Temps (Paris, France : 1861) [1861-1942] – Microfilm A3
Pravda (Moscow, Russia) [1917,1921-1975] – Microfilm A161

African-American Newspapers

New York Amsterdam News (1919-present) – Microfilm A128
Chicago Defender (1905-1966) – Microfilm A395
Pittsburgh Courier [weekly] (1923-1947) – Microfilm A238

Special Collections

Have historic newspapers for Long Island. Original newsprint copies and microfilm. Most but not all titles are in the catalog. Consult with Kristen Nyitray, Head, Special Collections and University Archives at (631) 632-7119.

Newspaper Indexes

How do you find articles on specific topics within a newspaper? It can be a difficlut process, but these indexes can help.

PRINT INDEXES (Located in the Central Reading Room, unless otherwise noted.)

Christian Science Monitor: Newspaper Indexes AI21.c3 [1946-1994]
Le Monde: Newspaper Indexes AI21.m6 [1944-1968]
Wall Street Journal: Newspaper Indexes HG1.W26 [1955-present]
Newsday: Newspaper Indexes AI21.N5 [1977-1985]
Alternative Press Index: Main Stacks [1969-5 years ago-ish].

News Sources

Library Databases - Historical Newspapers

Newspapers in Microforms at Stony Brook

Newspaper Indexes

Library

Resources

Follow Us