Research & Subject Guides: Biological Sciences: Reptiles and Amphibians

Books

A field guide to reptiles and amphibians : eastern and central North America /
Call Number: Science/Engineering Library - Permanent Reserve -QL651 .C65 1991
Identification and range information for various N. American reptiles and amphibians. Includes illustrations.
Bill Branch’s field guide to the snakes and other reptiles of southern Africa.
Call Number: Science/Engineering Library-Permanent Reserve -QL662 .A356 B73 1988
Identification, range, breeding, and habitat information for reptiles of Southern Africa.
The Frog Book.
Call Number: Science/Engineering Library QL651 .D54 1969
Identification, structure and range information for North American frogs and toads.
Handbook of turtles...
Call Number: Science/Engineering Library QL666 .C5 C34 1995.
Characteristics, range, size, habitat, and habit information for North American turtles. Includes illustrations.

Online Resources

Zoological Record
1864 - current. Citations and abstracts. Covers every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, and so forth. Over 6,500 international journals, newsletters, books, reviews and conference proceedings.

Reptile Database
Includes images, distribution, and references to literature.

Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
1980-present. Citations and abstracts. Comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research, including traditional, experimental and interdisciplinary areas of biology. More than 5,000 international sources.

AmphibiaWeb
Authoritative resource to find conservation information. Includes references to supporting literature.
The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians

Where are books located on this topic?

Books on reptiles and amphibians have call #s ranging from QL640- QL669. Reference books with call #s in this range are basic overviews of the topic and do not include much species specific information.

Biological Sciences

Books

Online Resources

Where are books located on this topic?

Library

Resources

Follow Us