Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

History: Research Resources for Graduate Students

Resources for Research in History

Search the Catalog

STARS is the library catalog for Stony Brook University Libraries, serving the West Campus, Southampton, and SBU Manhattan. Material at Southampton can be requested through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

 

For journal or newspaper titles, use the Journal Catalog.

Catalog Home | Advanced Search

WorldCat

WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and many from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.

There are two versions of WorldCat, the subscription version from First Search, which is below and which I recommend, and the free version.  If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, and we don't own it, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to learn more. One great feature of the First Search version is that it automatically fills out your ILL request form.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

We will request a copy from another library.

Request an item or set up an account.

Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.

Subject Headings

 When you find a book that looks good, scroll down to the bottom of the screen, and you’ll see the Library of Congress subject headings.  You can click on these links to find more books on that subject.  You can also use these subject headings when searching databases, WorldCat, and many digital collections on the internet.

Learn some basic Library of Congress Subject Headings for your topic.

Look for Bibliographies & Indexes in Subject Headings. These can be useful resources.

Library of Congress subject headings often used for primary sources:

  • Sources
  • Correspondence
  • Diaries
  • Interviews
  • Personal narratives
  • Biography (includes memoirs)

Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials  in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff.

The department also extends its services to researchers in the wider geographic region, nationally, and internationally. 

The collection includes: books, manuscripts, and maps dating from the 15th century; the University Archives; audio/visual materials;  and a digital repository. All are welcome to explore the library's unique collections.

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million volumes; another 2 million volumes in microforms; over 300 databases; 53,608 e-journals; 2,500+ e-books, 10,000 CDs, and over 6,000 films.

The Central Reading Room and Music Library are on the on 1st floor of Melville Library. The entrance to the Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences collections) is on the 3rd Floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

The Health Sciences Library is separate library system located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

Circulation Policy: 98 books, semester loan (except branches) for grads and instructor.

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online via STAR.

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/book – Card is blocked at $.

Recalls: must be done in person at a Circ desk; Holds can be done online via STAR.

Photocopies: $.10 a page. You can put money on your student ID for copy machines. Copy machines also accept change and bills. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

Access to Other Research Libraries

Through the University's membership in various Library consortiums, Stony Brook students, staff and faculty have access to, and/or borrowing privileges at, numerous other research libraries on Long Island, in the greater New York area, and throughout the U.S., Canada, and other countries.

Research Libraries Group (RLG)

The University Libraries' membership in the Research Libraries Group (RLG) consortium allows Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty with current ID cards to enter and use many major libraries in the United States, Canada and abroad.

In our geographical region, other libraries in the program include: Columbia, NYU, The New York Public Library, The New School, American Museum of Natural History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, New-York Historical Society, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, The University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.

Full List of RLG Member Libraries

Stony Brook ID holders visiting these institutions may use materials; however, borrowing privileges are not usually available.

Students, staff, and faculty are urged to call ahead to a particular library, before actually going there, to confirm that they will be granted access at their time of arrival. Also, if they need to use a branch library within one of the participating library systems, it should be confirmed beforehand that the branch also takes part in the program and will allow access.

Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC)

The Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC) is a regional multi-type library organization serving academic, special, public, hospital and school libraries and library systems in Nassau and Suffolk counties.
 
The LILRC Research Loan Program (RLP), a reciprocal borrowing agreement between member libraries, allows Stony Brook students, staff and faculty to use and borrow material from numerous institutions on Long Island, including Adelphi University, Dowling College, Nassau and Suffolk Community Colleges, St. Joseph's College, Touro Law Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory, and the Nassau and Suffolk Public Library Systems.

Students, staff and faculty interested in borrowing material through the Research Loan Program must visit the Reference Desk in the Central Reading Room of Melville Library for an RLP pass.

Full List of LILRC Member Libraries

An up-to-date list of these libraries is also available at the service desk in Circulation Services, 3rd floor of the Melville Library.

New York Public Library

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. This gives researchers the opportunity to use important collections in the NYPL system, check out material, and access a wide array of useful electronic resources from on-site or, in a few cases, from home. See the NYPL web site for more information on getting a card.

See their list of databases.

State Univeristy of New York Libraries

Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty have direct borrowing privileges at most other SUNY libraries.

Google Custom Search

Google Custom Search allows you to construct a search engine of specific web sites of your own choosing. 

Once you have discovered a few web sites related to your particular area of research, combine them in a Google Custom Search.

NOTE: To create a Custom Search Engine (CSE), you will need a Google Account.  If you don't have one yet, you can get one here.

CREATE A CUSTOM SEARCH ENGINE

From the Google homepage, Click on the More link at the top of the page.  That will give you a dropdown menu.  Choose Even More, the last choice at the bottom.

 You will then be at the Google Products page.  On the right-hand side, you will see the Explore and innovate section.  Custom Search is the second choice.  Click on the link.

 Next, click on the large blue button on the right that says Create a Custom Search Engine.

You will then be at the set-up screen.  Most of this form is self-explanatory.  The Select some sites section, however, needs some explanation. When selecting the sites you want included in your search engine, you must format the URLs in a way that allows the entire site to be searched, not just the homepage.

To see how to do this, click on the Tips on formatting URLs link.

 Read the instructions.  To include the entire web site, you need to put an asterisk * at the end of the URL.  See below:

 Once you have created your Custom Search Engine (CSE), you can access it from your Google Account page, or you can embed the CSE on your personal web site, a blog, etc.  From the CSE homepage, click on Add this search engine to your blog or webpage.

Librarian

Chris Filstrup's picture
Chris Filstrup
Contact:
Central Reading Room
Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY 11794
631-632-9951

Search Google Scholar

Resources for Your Own Research, for your Teaching, and then time for Questions

Click on Scholar Preferences to set up for Stony Brook and WorldCat.

Be aware that Google Scholar does not search all of our databases.

 

Google Books

Google Books is extremely useful, because it searches the complete text of a book.  It can help you find books that may not come up in STARS, the library catalog.  When you find a book that looks good, then do a TITLE BEGINS WITH search in STARS to see if the Library has it.

As of August 2013, Google Books contained over 30 million scanned books.  Many from before 1923 are available full-text.