Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

ARH 102: Art in Culture from the Early Renaissance to Postmodernism: Home

Related Guides

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million books and e-books, over 100,000 e-journals; over 450 databases, and another 3.8 million titles in microforms.

Circulation Policy: Undergradutes: 50 books; one-month borrowing period. Faculty & Graduates: 99 books; semester loan (except branches). All patrons: 3 DVDs, with a one-week borrowing period.

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online via STARS.  More information.

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/lost book – Card is blocked at $5.  More information.

Recalls: If you need a book that's checked out, you can place a Recall on it via STARS.

Photocopies/Scanners: Free scanning to USB and to Email. $.10 a page for print copies. You can put money on your student ID using Wolfie's Wallet. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

The entrance to the Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences collections) is on the 3rd Floor.

The Central Reading Room (Main Reference Desk), Science & Engineering Library (North Reading Room) and Music Library are on the on 1st floor of Melville Library.  There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

The Health Sciences Library is located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

Getting Help

If you're having trouble finding material for your paper, take advantage of the Library's Research Assistance.

My contact information is on the right side of this page.  Send me an email.

Chat online. Use the Ask Us buttons on the right side of this page and and on other pages throughout the Library web site.  The service is available M-F 9-5.

Email a question.  We’ll respond within 24 hours.

Visit the Reference Desk in the Central Reading Room (CRR).  There are librarians until 5 pm M-F and trained employees until the CRR closes at 2 AM.  See our HOURS.

Call the Reference Desk at 631-632-7110.  If you're at home, you can call until 2 AM Sun-Wed.  See our HOURS.

Top Resources

Spotlight on ArtStor

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Users in a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance Studies, and more, will find it useful. Very high quality, annotated images can be searched and browsed by collection, artist, date and title, sorted, printed, zoomed, saved, shared, organized, made into slide shows, downloaded, exported and inserted into research papers.

Some Search Tricks

Here are some easy tricks that can help with your searching:

Putting an AND between words will search for BOTH words on a webpage or in an article.  When you do a normal Google search, you are doing an AND search.

EXAMPLE: immigration and employment will only give you web pages or articles that have both of those words.  This means you will get fewer results, but they should be better results.

Putting QUOTATION MARKS around a phrase will search for web pages or articles that have that exact phrase.  This is a very useful trick.  It will cut down on the number of bad results.  Be careful not to include too many words inside the quotation marks, because that's EXACTLY what will be searched.

EXAMPLE: “genetic engineering” will only give you web pages or articles with that exact phrase.  Other examples are "climate change," "no child left behind," "body image."

An ASTERISK (*) search is very useful when similar words are being used to talk about a topic.  It searches for all the various words using the same root.

EXAMPLE: comput* will give you articles that have the words compute, computer, computing, etc.  Or: educat* will search for educate, education, educator, educators, etc.

Putting an OR between words will give you articles with at least one of the words.  This will give you more results.  It can be useful when you're not sure which word is being used more.

EXAMPLE: fat OR obesity will give web pages and articles that have the word fat.  And it will give you web pages and articles that have the word obesity.

Use (Parentheses) to group multiple search terms together.  You're basically doing TWO searches at the same time.

EXAMPLE: debt and (teenagers or adolescents) will give you web pages or articles that have the words debt and teenagers and web pages and articles that have the words debt and adolescents.


Librarian

Chris Filstrup
Contact:
Chemistry Library

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY 11794
631-632-2603