Research & Subject Guides: POL 325 Civil Liberties & Civil Rights: Journal Articles

Databases

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Cambridge Journals Online
1990s-present. Access to 500 fulltext, peer-reviewed journals and 20 books that cover a broad range of subjects across the humanities, arts, and sciences.

Key Academic Journals

American Journal of Political Science
Academic research in American politics and international methodology, international, philosophical and theoretical/quantitative studies. AJPS seeks "significant advances in knowledge and understanding of citizenship, governance, and politics, and to the public value of political science research."
American Political Science Review
1906-present. Refereed. Sponsored by the American Political Science Association. New articles in all areas of Political Science. For titles from past five years see Cambridge Journals Online in database list.
Annual Review of Political Science
Published annually. All areas of Political Science are covered in critical reviews.
British Journal of Political Science
Refereed journal. Covers all topics in Political Science using research articles and essays. For older issues see JSTOR.
Foreign Affairs
Published by the nonpartisan Council on Foreign Relations Articles cover current events, economic, historical and political aspects of international affairs. Also included are topical essays, book reviews, maps and illustrations.
International Organization
Empirical research on foreign policy, international relations, comparative political economy, security, environment, regional integration, alliance patterns, war, bargaining and conflict resolution. See J-STOR for earlier issues, 1947-2012.
more...less...
Published by the International Organization Foundation. Issues include "research notes" that highlight a topic and occasional review essays.
International Security
Essays on all aspects of the control and use of force. Articles cover contemporary policy issues, historical and theoretical questions.
Journal of Politics
Published for the Southern Political Science Association. Book reviews are included.
P.S.Political Science & Politics
Peer-reviewed. Published by the American Political Science Association. It focuses on "contemporary politics, teaching and the discipline". Includes research articles, news, announcements and thematic symposia. For current articles use Cambridge Journals Online in the databases A-Z list.
Public Opinion Quarterly
Peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

POL 325 Civil Liberties & Civil Rights: Journal Articles

Databases

Key Academic Journals

Library

Resources

Follow Us