Health services resources focusing on access, quality and cost. Public Health Information focusing on promotion of health for the larger population. Resources include pre-scoped searches for PubMed and collaborative projects.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Updated daily, Scopus includes: • 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers 20,800 peer-reviewed journals (including 2,600 open access journals) 367 trade publications Over 400 book series • 6.4 million conference papers • “Articles-in-Press” from more than 3,850 journals and publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Nature Publishing Group Scopus’ 54M records consist of: • 33 million records, including references, going back to 1996 (84% include abstracts) • 21 million pre-1996 records going back as far as 1823 • “Articles-in-Press” from more than 3,850 journals and publishers Scopus also cross-searches 25.2 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office).
Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) is an EBSCO database search set for optimal research. Health & Psychosocial Instruments features a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Qualtrics is a hosted survey and research tool that Stony Brook University has subscribed to in order to conduct quality surveys with the end result of collecting and analyzing data. Qualtrics is the tool used by Stony Brook's own CENTER FOR SURVEY RESEARCH. It is available to all students, faculty, and staff who have an active NetID.
SPSS is a statistical and data mining software package that allows you to analyze research data to make smarter decisions, solve problems and improve outcomes. Stony Brook students can access SPSS at no charge from any of the TLT-managed SINC Sites on campus and the Virtual SINC Site.
Longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32*.
Information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health. The survey results are used by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and others to plan health services and health education programs, and to do statistical studies of families, fertility, and health.